Parkrun

Image

 

Made it to Parkrun is morning. No excuse not to as I had to drop my son off at 8 When we got up at 6:30 I wasn’t feeling enthusiastic, but I dressed in my running kit anyway, thinking that I could decide whether to go to Parkrun or back home after I dropped him. Once I was in the kit though, my mind was set – I was going.

No garmin today. I thought that I would sleep in it one night to study my resting heart rate. I don’t know what I did but it’s stuck on one screen and I haven’t had time to read the instruction manual yet to sort it out.

It was cold and windy (2*C) and I wondered if 2 layers would be enough. I was feeling a bit miserable but determined to see it through. We started off as usual but then I noticed something different, when we got to the hill about a third of the way along the first lap, I wasn’t alone. Normally I have dropped behind the main pack at this point. Apart from walking up the steep, 25m hill, I managed to jog consistently around the first 2laps.

Third lap was ok but had a little walk in the last third just before the final push. Then I realised that I didn’t have enough in me for a final push and decided to just keep jogging that last 200m into the finishing funnel. Next thing I heard people shouting and cheering for the person behind me, saying ‘come on you can catch her’. I didn’t even look back, ‘not if I can help it’ I thought and suddenly found the energy for a bit of a push (in the unlikely event of the person behind me reading this, sorry). When I crossed the finishing line I was seeing stars! I had to bend over to catch my breath.

so despite my lack of enthusiasm I had a good run. I thought that I might have beaten my PB , but I have just checked the results, and can you believe it, 1 second slower than my PB of 36:19! Maybe next time!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, healthy diet, middle aged women, novice, parkrun, plant based, running, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Parkrun

  1. pwhent says:

    If ever I don’t feel like doing a training session I change into my kit as part of the negotiation process with myself. That always works! Well done on the, almost PB Parkrun.

  2. nicwnacw says:

    Well my PB for parkrun is 55 mins! so you are doing way better than me lol x

  3. The Tri Road says:

    I’ll have a PB at parkrun soon – doing my first one in two weeks, launching one in my home town in the next few months too! So excited, and really encouraging to read about it on your blog. Keep going, running and blogging. 😀

Leave a Reply

