February goals

Already the month is flying past with a week gone already.
Goals for the rest of February?
Get into a new running routine. It’s as simple as that! I have gone back full time this month with a new timetable, a new school for joe (and hopefully a new bathroom soon). I need to find where the gaps are so that I can run in them.
So I’m not going to set any time, distance or mileage targets. Just a plan to find enough slots in the week (hopefully 4) for exercise and to use them.
I can stop moaning about the darkness now, it’s light at 7:30 and getting better every day so I’m looking forwards to some 6 am sunrise runs in the not too distant future. I love being out in that weak watery daylight whilst the rest of the world is sleeping.
The only other thing to take into consideration is hairstyling. The whole washing/drying/styling of hair takes about 30-40 minutes to get it looking decent so for a pre /work run that has to be factored in too!
I’m sticking with my plant based diet, but I have relaxed it for eating out. I was pleasantly surprised last week to find our local gastro pub (www.theclogandbillycock.com) does a decent veg burger. Basically it’s a bun piled with chargrilled mushroom, Aubergine tomato and lettuce etc with chips fried in sunflower oil and usual relishes. the mushroom was garlicky and it did taste buttery but I didn’t ask if it was vegan beforehand (or specify that I wanted it to be)so I just ate and enjoyed!
Yesterday I was out all day so ended up with a cheese and mushroom toastie at M&S and a hot pot supper in the evening which was good. So today I plan to be back on track with my okra and fennel tangine ( courtesy of the good housekeeping vegetarian cookbook) which is really tasty. Most of that will be frozen in portions for later. I’m also planning to make celeriac and porcini gratin, but without the cheese. The recipe from the cranks cookbook uses gruyere which does give a lot of flavour, but hopefully substitution with some garlicky breadcrumbs and nutritional yeast flakes will compensate.
I realised that I don’t miss the taste of meat at all, just the convenience as it’s easy to cook. Part of that is cultural though. Where I grew up, serving meat and 2 veg is considered a meal, serving 3veg is not!
Anyway enough writing about it time to do it!
I hope that your goals are coming along well too.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to February goals

  1. nicwnacw says:

    Love this post especially the meat and two beg comment – I laughed out loud exactly how I was brought up! There had to be loads of meat on the plate or it wasn’t a ‘proper’ meal I find I have less meat now – mostly because of cost rather than any dietary or conscience issues.

    I like your gaols, re the hair perhaps a change of hairstyle so it takes less time? x

    • mawil1 says:

      Thinking about the hair. I had it cut into a short bob which is a bit smarter than the longer style I had before ( which I could tie back) but the pony tail doesn’t look great. Maybe I need to think of smarter ways of putting my hair up!

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    …..I am a true carnivor so am impressed with your new diet, cannot be easy! Maybe grow your hair a little longer like you used to have it; it will tie back then and save you having to style it; a blast from the dryer will suffice…keep on inspiring us..x

    • mawil1 says:

      Don’t be impressed by the diet – it’s been easy for me, I suspect I’m not a real carnivore! I miss eggs a little bit and last night I tasted the macaroni cheese I cooked for my son and it was delicious! But I think people have different sensitivities for taste and I suspect that my taste buds are quite insensitive. Once when we were in France we went to e restaurant famed for its truffle dishes, and had their truffle omlette – it just tasted like an ordinary one to me but my husband loved it!
      The best thing about in the change in diet has been that I have lost some weight with very little effort. I’m waiting to see if this will translate into faster running!

  3. pwhent says:

    Good luck with the goals for Feb Julie. Very sensible not to be too prescriptive. I haven’t been as good as you on the eating front. I have stayed largely “clean”, but my permitted cheat meal is more like a cheat weekend. My justification is that I am training a lot and need the carbs!!! I have never thought how lucky we men are that hair is a 2-minute task!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      I think the clean eating has been worthwhile. I suspect that it’s the avoidance of processed foods, pastry biscuits, cakes etc that has an impact rather than not eating meat. If you don’t eat butter or hydrogenated fats you can exclude 80% of the typical modern diet. The hardest bit is making sure that you have something handy to eat when you are hungry, so if I think I’m going to be working/ busy until after 6 making sure I have packed something like pitta bread and peanut butter, good with banana or a spoonful of strawberry jam, keeps me going.
      One issue is that I spend 2 or 3 hours on a Sunday getting foods ready for the week and it’s hard to do both a long run and a lot of cooking! Sometimes it just takes time to get the balance right!

Leave a Reply

