February update

 

After too much procrastination I got out for a run today. Only when I came to review it in my log did I realise that it has been 2 whole weeks since my last run. I knew it had been a while but that was a surprise. It was hard going while I was out, I was feeling it in my lower back ( a sure sign of too much sitting) and puffing like a steam engine, but 2 weeks! Despite it being hard work it felt good to be doing it, to be overcoming ‘not been for a run’.

TOday was my first run with my upgraded ‘map my run’ app (subscription required). It now includes voice coaching so I can set my target pace and every 2 minutes the woman who lives in the phone tells you how fast you are running and then says ( in my case) speed up! I have now reset it ready for tomorrow to a more realistic pace! I had set it to 30s faster than my current best average which although it might be what I’m aiming for over the next few weeks I see now that it might be more sensible to drop it by 5s at a time! It’s quite demoralising to be told to speed up when you are pushing yourself to keep up! Anyway, I’m mentally prepared for tomorrow and I haven’t got any commitments so I’m hoping for a better run then.

The plant based diet has had a positive effect on my body composition. As I don’t find it difficult I will continue with it.Imageit would be good to think that adding the diet and the running together will have additional benefits. I’ll let you know!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February update

  1. nicwnacw says:

    Well done you for going back out there and doing it! I would die for body fat that low!

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha it’s all relative isn’t it! I was watching Bridget jones ‘s diary last night and the first entry is ‘136lb must lose 10lb’ and I think ‘oh to be 136lb!’ I’ve lost 10lb this year and dropped 2 dress sizes which for me is the difference for being comfortable or not. Losing another 10lb would make me ‘slim’ and another 10 ‘fashionably thin’. I’m old enough and wise enough to know that my appearance doesn’t matter that much to anyone else, but feeling comfortable in my clothes is a real bonus! Slim would be nice, thin a no no at my age, anything I can do to be fit and healthy a definate plus!

Leave a Reply

