A long awaited PB☺️!

After 10 months (that’s longer than a pregnancy) of waiting and a tantalising last 2 park runs where I was 1second slower than my PB I have finally managed to shave 27 seconds off my 5k Parkrun time! I know that this isn’t going to set the athletics world on fire, and not even the blogosphere, but I am very pleased.

I had a clue that I might be doing better this time when I finished the first lap before being overtaken by the first finisher but I didn’t dare hope. At he end of the second lap I felt like I normally feel at the end of the third but I kept pushing myself and managed to finish without collapsing!

i thought that I had found my level and was never going to improve beyond this.

Sorry, not an exciting blog for you readers, but I just wanted to share!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, map my run, middle aged women, parkrun, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A long awaited PB☺️!

  1. nicwnacw says:

    Llongyfarchiadau, congratulations from Wales . Doesn’t matter about anything else except you getting the PB you wanted, well done you xx

  2. The Tri Road says:

    Congratulations! 🙂 I think it’s an exciting blog post!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! I think that it’s something you can only appreciate if you have ‘been there’ at some point, plodding away and hoping for improvement! Julie

      >

  3. pwhent says:

    Well done Julie. Breaking your PB is as important to you as Mo Farah breaking his is to him. Don’t apologise for it. Going faster than you have ever gone before in your life is a huge achievement.

  4. mawil1 says:

    Thanks, and congratulations on your PB too! It’s good to feel that you have achieved something isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

