Something old(me), something new………

I read somewhere that doing new things, learning new skills, pushing yourself beyond your old limits slows brain ageing and reduces the risk of dementia.  Running has done all those things for me, over and over and again yesterday. What could I have possibly done that was new about running?

I  ran with a club!

having established a new routine and sorted childcare for Thursday nights I looked for a club that runs on a Thursday and I found one. I contacted the club secretary and last night went to join them for a training run. They meet in a pub car park.

I was a bit early and felt a bit suspicious sitting in my car looking at all the other cars for signs of running paraphernalia, (I’d got changed at work, just walking through the hospital in my running gear was embarrassing enough!). I nearly bottled it. I hadn’t slept well the night before, I was tired and I wasn’t feeling sociable. I don’t do small talk well at the best of times. Then I remembered the little talk I gave my son last week ( re rugby tackles) about sometimes you just have to have faith in yourself and throw yourself into something, even if it scares you, because after the first time when you have survived, you will not only be ok but you will be proud of yourself for doing something g so difficult. That and I had emailed the club secretary so I felt obliged.

By 2minutes to 7 I still wasn’t seeing the crowd of runners I was expecting to, then I saw an obviously runner type woman coming out of the pub and approached her. She led me round the corner where the crowd was gathering duh !

I panicked a little when someone talked about doing 17 miles on Monday followed by intervals on tuesday – at least that was worthy of note and admiration from others, not too lowly to mention!

anyway we set off runNing and it was fine. Of course I was at the back but people did that thing where people at the front run to the back ( the first time I thought that we were passing another running club but then I clicked ) so I never feltIke I was way behind. After a couple of miles the group split and I went on the short run ( 5 miles)

Conclusion? I really liked it.  Although lots of people were chatting I realised that I didn’t have to talk if I didn’t want to, nobody seemed to mind and I’m quite happy to listen to others. Everyone was nice, just chatting about running, racing and a bit of banter. In a funny way I liked being in a pack, running in a pack, maybe that’s an evolutionary throwback of some sort! Also I liked not being in charge! At work and at home there’s a lot of pressure to be the one who sorts it out, here I just switched my brain off and followed everyone else!

. I didn’t go into the pub at the end, but I will next week. There will be a next week, I definately want to do it again and I will sign up as a member. I think. I can’t believe that I ( uncoordinated un sporty never been in a team in my life) am considering joining a running club!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, change, Club running, fear, fitness, fun, habits, interval training, map my run, middle aged women, novice, parkrun, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something old(me), something new………

  1. pwhent says:

    That’s great Julie. I think this is a great move. I went through thhe same “shall I shan’t I” thought process before I joined my local triathlon club nearly two years ago and looking back it was the best move I made. Good luck with next week but watch out or they’ll have you on the committee in no time!!

Leave a Reply

