Not a bad week.

Image

I’m happy with my progress this week.

last Sunday I did my long run, only 10k but by the end I was tiring! I stuck to my schedule, writing it in the diary does help and the rest days were easier too, no humming and haa-ing about whether to run or not so it was easier to plan to do ‘other stuff’.

There are advantages to doing your own training plan rather than trying to follow a downloaded one, you know when you have the time so you just have to decide which workout goes where. I dare say a customised programme from an on line coach is better, has anyone (who is very amateur ) tried that?

I enjoyed my ‘test run’ with the running club, although it was a bit longer than I anticipated! So I have joined up.

Saturday I did park run, but it was a windy day so no PB this week. After that I did find that I had some low back pain in bed last night so I thought that it might be better to postpone my long run until after going to yoga. Of course that meant that I didn’t get out until after dark, so I was limited in my choice of routes and my long run wasn’t as long as I would have liked.  The end result was 4 medium ish fast ish runs rather than a short fast one, long slow etc. Overall mileage was high this week (16.8), normally a good week is about 12 so that might be why I’m getting a bit of backache.

Plans for this week then?

to stick to my sessions as planned, but make my long run on Sunday long and slow. On Tuesday I’m planning to do some hill repeats for strength and speed. I’ve chosen my hill, that’s it on the right of the picture. Also I really need to make sure that I do all my stretches properly. Although I’m the slowest person in the running club those runs will be ‘tempo’ for me so Saturday really needs to be an easy run too if I’m not going to overdo it, rather than a Parkrun.

Well, a nice 70 page document to read in preparation for tomorrow morning, now!

I hope the work/life/running balance is working out for you all!

juliex

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, blogging, change, Club running, fitness, fun, habits, interval training, middle aged women, muscle building, novice, parkrun, running, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not a bad week.

  1. The Tri Road says:

    I have a coach who lives several hours away from me. It’s not really “online” like from a website, but I pay her a monthly fee and she sends me a program. I tell her what races I’m planning to do, when I’m going away, what days I have available for training, morning or evening preference and all of that. I find the money I spend on that is much better value for me than a gym membership I never use! The only downside is the lack of visual confirmation that my technique is okay but you don’t get that with a downloaded program either. For me, the personalised one is perfect. I can text or email and say “training didn’t happen today, should I just skip it, or swap it for another day”. I don’t have the time or knowledge to write my own program, and I certainly wouldn’t expect as much of myself as she does of me. Each month I get my new program I think “you want me to what????” and usually I manage to do it. Just because I’m told to. And I am most definitely amateur. 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for replying. It’s quite a commitment, to yourself more than anything. If you’re paying for a personalised plan then you have to follow it, but then it is made to fit. Have you made a lot if improvement? It sounds like you are encouraged to push your boundaries! I think I will see how I get on with being in a club. They do do intervals etc so that will be new for me. But I did start to think a while back that some one to one advice would be good. Something to bear in mind. I’ll keep reading your blog and see how it goes! Thanks Julie

      >

Leave a Reply

