The running landscape, full of peaks troughs and plateaux!

ImageOver the last few weeks my blogging, like my running, has become slightly erratic and infrequent. Mainly because I don’t think a blog about why I didn’t go running or meet my goals is that exciting.

anyhow, made it out a couple of times this week.  As you can see those early mornings are quite frosty! As always, once you are out its great.

Today I ran with music, and on shuffle Paul simon’s ‘diamonds on the soles of her shoes’ came on. I like it because that’s how it feels sometimes when you’re running, like you have diamonds on the soles of your shoes, but of course no one can see them. It’s like a secret pleasure!

Since joining the running club I haven’t been running with them. I did go on Thursday but got there too late and I presume they’d already set off. It was raining heavily, (but I did have my waterproof so I wasn’t put off by that), however when the thunder and lightning started I was glad to be at home!

The other thing that I have been working on over the last couple of weeks is sleep- yes seriously, ‘working’ on sleep? I mean that I have just been making the effort to go to bed early, not drink caffeine or wine in the evenings and get 8 hrs of kip. I wake up early which is good, now I have to work on getting out of bed!

Generally though I’m ready for a break and as luck would have it I  have a couple of weeks of annual leave coming up which I’m really looking forwards to. We are going somewhere sunny for a few days and I will be packing my trainers!

Sadly though I don’t think that I have done enough running to even think about the half marathon I wanted to do on 6th April. I haven’t done a proper long run for about 4 months.  I have entered a 10k for May so I should be ok for that and plan for a half later in the year.

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, change, Club running, fitness, fun, habits, half marathon, healthy diet, holidays, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The running landscape, full of peaks troughs and plateaux!

  1. fitfor365 says:

    I know what you mean, my mileage has slipped a bit due to work.

    • mawil1 says:

      I know the feeling- it sounds so feeble to say that you haven’t got time but one does need to prioritise in life and family and work come before things that are mainly about your own fun and fulfilment. Not that I don’t have fun with the family or at work, but that can all call on your time. And let’s face it, motivation is higher when you are well rested and not under time pressure! I hope things settle into a better pattern for you soon. Julie

      >

  2. pwhent says:

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. We do this for for fun. Sleep and a sunshine holiday. Sounds like the perfect way to recharge everything!!

    • mawil1 says:

      I agree, running has become part of what I do for fun, so I miss it! I’m really looking forwards to a couple of weeks of RnRnR – rest relaxation and running!

  3. It’s hard to decide what is more important, sleeping or running, or which one deserves more of your focus. Definitely bring the trainers on vacation- nothin like finding your your mojo in a new exciting place!

    • mawil1 says:

      At least on holiday I can get plenty of both! Last year I took my trainers and ran every other day, despite getting up at sunrise to avoid the heat. I really enjoyed it though, especially running by the sea!

Leave a Reply

