Why I love Sunday runs

image

Sunday is a ‘chilled’ kind of day in our house. No alarm clock. When my son wakes up he tries to get as much ‘I-pad’ time in as possible before we wake up so he is as quiet as a mouse ( and much quieter than our hamster). When I do wake I take a cup of tea and maybe a bagel to nibble back into bed. Only when I’m fully awake do I start to rifle through my drawer and think about what I want to wear on this run, look at the weather, think how many layers I want to wear.There’s time for all this because it’s Sunday. Sunday runs are the most comfortable. Maybe I review old routes and see what best fits my planned distance, the weather etc or take the time to adjust the settings on some electronic gizmo, choose a playlist or whatever. (Maybe another cup of tea?)

Then I set out. The great thing about Sunday runs is that they are almost invariably done in daylight. The weather may be rubbish but I can see where I’m going and go where I like. Sunday is often a long run, and short of a lunch engagement there is no pressure to be back ‘on time’. So I follow my nose and off I go. It’s usually quiet, but often there will be other runners or cyclists also enjoying the early morning. If it is early morning there are pale skies and clouds to enjoy, watery sunlight, birds, deer, rabbits for company, unbroken icy crusts on normally muddy routes. No worries, do what I like, maybe stop and take a few pictures on my phone.

And then when it’s all done, time back home to catch my breath, drink my chocolate milk, put my glasses on and squint at my numbers. Then I like to drink tea and think about it. Think about my pace, my distance, progress, calories – yes I get a sense of satisfaction from having had breakfast and still being in negative calorie balance! Or less often noticing a slightly faster pace than before. A hot shower, time to bumble around messing with my hair and clothes, or maybe not, just slouching around in my joggers and playing with joe.

Nice relaxing Sundays. Nice relaxing runs.

Would those Sundays be so great if you didn’t work so hard for the rest of the week?

what makes a good run for you?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why I love Sunday runs

  1. cewdressage says:

    This is Saturday runs for me and I LOVE them. No rushing around, just soaking it in and enjoying the moment.

  2. fitfor365 says:

    Love the post and my long runs at the weekend. Like you say, being out in the daylight and its better if its early before everyone is out.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for your comment, John. There’s something about running that is better than just relaxing for relaxation, I think that having to focus on breathing, looking where you are going etc helps to empty your mind of all the stressful thoughts about work, life, family etc. even if it’s only possible to get out once a week, then that can be enough to keep me sane! Julie

      >

      • fitfor365 says:

        I signed up for the Manchester 10k yesterday, are you running it?

      • mawil1 says:

        Yes, I have signed up!

      • fitfor365 says:

        See you there, I’ll be in running gear 🙂

      • mawil1 says:

        Oh it will be easy to spot you then !! As a woman I haven’t decided what to wear yet, will probably buy a new outfit the week before, try on everything I have got the night before and then stay up late washing something out of the laundry basket because it has to be that, then I will phone all my friends to see what they are wearing and will turn up wearing what I always wear! Lol jx

        >

Leave a Reply

