Role reversal!

Having a few days off work, today seemed like a golden opportunity to go to the park and attempt some timed laps/ interval training. I persuaded my 10yr old son to come with me, saying that he could do stopwatch on my phone. 

Theres now a sign up at the park asking you to pay to use the track, so I went to the pavilion but the man didn’t take any money explaining that you couldn’t use the whole track because of the building work. A new indoor training centre is being built next to the track. 

So instead of doing the laps I thought I’d do some 200m sprints and jog back. I found that I couldn’t sprint more than 200m anyway! So joe timed me for about 4 of these coming in at about 50s but running into the wind. Then I asked if he wanted to do some and I would time him. He said yes. Imagine my surprise/ amusement/ pleasure when he just went into a warm up routine, doing a few lunges, quads stretches etc! Obviously they teach them to do things properly at school! (Which I am v pleased about!)

Anyway he did his 200m in 40s (wind behind him) and then we both managed to get a few more second off each. 

Later we went to the cafe for a drink and a biscuit and looked at our times. Then he said to me ‘do you realise, mum, that if you did this every day and just knocked a second off you would be 7s faster in a week?’ So I said to him ‘well if you did this every day and knocked a second off you would be an Olympic champion by the time you are 18’. ‘Mm’ he replied, considering it as if it was a possibility. I didn’t explain how sometimes you just can’t knock anothervsecond off, not even if you are mo farah!

I’d like him to give it a try, not to be an Olympic champion(although who wouldn’t be a proud parent!) but if he could hold his own in a race at school I’d be happy because I want him to feel confident in his abilities.

It amuses me, to see these flashes of maturity in my baby boy. I think he must take after his dad!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Role reversal!

  1. peter says:

    Julie you sound like such a great Mum. Loads of parents push their kids but I think what they need is roots to grow. I have just persuaded my 11 yr old to come to swim training with me on Sunday. Now she loves it. I get far more of a thrill hearing that she has cracked front crawl breathing than I get from anything I do.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Peter, I find it’s hard sometimes to motivate without putting pressure on, being pushy and trying to avoid bribery and yet to set standards and enable them to realise their potential! Being a parent can be a real roller coaster but it’s the best one I’ve been on!
      It sounds like you are a great dad, supporting and encouraging your daughter, doing park runs and swimming! It’s not so cool for boys to do things with their mums, but hopefully, like you say I can give him some roots. My husband does a bit with him too, cycling and football but we are fortunate that they do a lot of sport at school with male teachers and I think that having good role models from a young age helps.

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Well Julie, it looks like you have got a budding running companion! Our daughter is 30 next year with her brothers close behind and they never cease to amaze me… Your son will naturally challenge himself having seen you do the same; nurture is wonderful! Lovely to see that you are still enjoying your running….E x

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi Elaine, good to hear from you, how are you? I’m hoping that my son will be inspired to do something sporty, I keep reading how the youth of today are so inactive, playing on computer games all the time etc, so I’m hoping to avoid that for him! Glad to hear that he will continue to amuse me as life goes on. I’m secretly looking forwards to grandchildren, I hope he marries someone I get along with and I get do lots of babysitting!

  3. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Aw, I have just read this mail…. I am really good, thankyou! I am sure he will follow in your footprints, literally…. And he will go on to marry someone lovely like his mum; our sons are not yet married but are in relationships with bright, beautiful and kind women…. It’s great to have extra girls in the family, all wonderful things for you to enjoy later in life… X

Leave a Reply

