Counting my blessings!

Counting my blessings!

Just back from a weeks beach holiday in Dubai. We got back at about 9am on Good Friday to the best of British weather, sunny, bright, springtime with trees in leaf and blossom and grass and daffodils to look at.
We had a great beach holiday with wonderful food and time to recharge our batteries.i managed to run most days (but no more than 5k!) the first couple of days I got up at sunrise to run along the beachfront (see photo) in the coolest part of the day. Even then it was quite hot and humid. Then I discovered the air conditioned gym. Cooled to 23c ( that’s 2 degrees higher than we heat our house!) About day 3 I was running on the treadmill, looking out of the window to the view of the sea and the city and I thought about how lucky I was to be able to run in an air conditioned gym, or to be on a holiday in a place with such a gym, or to have a job that pays for the holiday, and that that job is a job where for the most part I enjoy it. At that point I realised that my batteries were probably re charged!
I managed to get 20k done this week which although it was at slow speeds is a good kick start to increasing the mileage a bit. Apparently most marathon runners notch up 40 -60 miles per week so I need to quadruple my base mileage over the year if I’m thinking of a marathon next year! I didn’t get to see the VLM , in fact I completely forgot about it whilst I was away! But everyone says that it’s such a good one to do I might try to get a place in the ballot for next year. I find other peoples stories so inspiring that I’m tempted to give it a try. Let’s see what fate has in store!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
Image | This entry was posted in blogging, fitness, fun, half marathon, holidays, impulsive decisions, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Counting my blessings!

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Thankyou for bringing a little sunshine back from Dubai! and glad to hear you enjoyed your well earned holiday. We are indeed very lucky to enjoy finer things in life but I have a saying….’ The harder I work the luckier I get!’ Te he…and you work very hard. I am really impressed that you kept up your training on your holidays…you put me to shame! Keep up the good work….x

  2. pwhent says:

    I am just catching up so sorry if this is late. I envy you a week in Dubai this time of year. I have been a couple of times and it has a certain charm. If you don’t get into the VLM through the ballot, then charity places are not hard to get if you are happy to do a bit of fundraising. I ran for shelter a few years ago and the support and the great after party made it worth while. Good luck!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks peter, I managed to catch the ballot so that’s a start! My sensible bit thinks it’s a crazy idea but another bit is excited at the prospect! But now I have the motivation to get my base mileage up before October just in case that envelope drops through the door! Not long until July. We see lots of cyclists locally heading up to rivington to get their hill practice in. It sounds like your training is going to plan, are you excited yet?

      >

      • pwhent says:

        Don’t listen to your sensible side. TheVLM is the experience of a lifetime. I am excited and terrified in equal measure!!

Leave a Reply

