Plodding on.

Like last year, this years holiday appeared to be good for my running. On my return to nice cool England I managed to do some of my fastest paced running. I’m not sure what it is, eating more, sleeping more, running more, running in the heat, running on a treadmill but whatever it is I seem to go faster for further when I get back.

imagine the swell of optimism and joy I felt when my ASICS app suggested that I readjusted my estimated finish time for the bupa 10k down by 6 minutes!  Despite keeping up a steady routine though I found my pace dipped the week after and it suggested that I put it back up again, mild heartsink!

I managed to get to the gym early one morning to do some intervals. I think that using a treadmill is a good way to do intervals, once the speed is set you know exactly what pace you are doing and how long you are doing it for. There are no hills to slow you down either! I thought that maybe using the treadmill on holiday had been a key factor so I’m trying to fit it into my weekly routine. The only slight downside was finding that sometimes I found it hard to keep running on the ‘rest’ bits, so I ended up walking. So despite doing my intervals at a 10 minute mile pace, at the end of the session my average pace was 12:30, ie my usual steady pace!

the other highlight of the week was that I managed to do a run with the running club. This time it was light so I could see people! Yes I was as the back all the way, but someone has to be! They are a nice friendly bunch so hopefully running with a group will help me to get faster. In the. Pub afterwards I found out that people had a wide variety of running ambitions, some had done marathons, someone else planning to do 10 in 10, others happy to stick with 5k and 10k races. No one laughed when I said that I’d entered the ballot for the VLM in fact they said what a good marathon it was for a beginner – you could walk it if you wanted – with 52 miles of cheering crowds to help you along.

Only 2 weeks until the BUPA 10k. I’m quite looking forwards to it – will I find it easier than last year? Will I see  an improvement? Possibly not, but I know than I won’t be afraid of not making it round this year!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, Club running, fear, fitness, fun, habits, holidays, interval training, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

