A funny thing happened at Parkrun

I haven’t been for a few weeks so I didn’t realise that it was avenham parks 2nd birthday for Parkrun. Some people were in fancy dress which was fun.

anyway down to business, I made my way to the back of the pack at the start line. There was no waiting and we were off, so it took a few seconds to get my phone switched on to record the run.

That’s when the first funny thing happened. People were in my way! I never feel the need to get past people when I’m running but today I did. So I tucked in behind the guy with a pram, in a pirate costume with a big pirate flag on the pram. People moved for him and we got past the crowd.

I tried to keep going steadily, even though I was gasping for breath as usual  and the ‘why am I doing this ‘ thought did cross my mind today!

Anyway, got round, no sprint finish, nothing left in the tank! Picked up my chip, did the barcode then got my phone out to switch the app off and it said 36:02. My previous PB is 35:52. It must have taken 30 s to get my phone out after the finish line? Also the app said that I had done 3.5 miles in that time giving me a pace of 10:22. I never run that fast consistently! I think the app is a bit dubious, as the distance is clearly incorrect,  but the time should be OK so I’m awaiting my recorded time with interest! I’m thinking that it might be a PB, and I’m thinking that running with the club is doing me good. Although I’m always at the back of the pack on our training runs, having to keep going makes me push myself that little bit harder than I do when I am on my own.

I told my son how it went. Wise old sage at the age of 10 pointed out ‘it’s the beginning of a new season for running, there will be lots of beginners’  He might have a point, one month after VLM.

Anyway results have arrived, 9s off my old PB. Thank you red rose runners!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A funny thing happened at Parkrun

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    …you can always trust your offspring to burst your bubble, ha ha….keep up the good work x

  2. pwhent says:

    Nothing like a child to keep you grounded!! Congrats on the PB. I hope you celebrated it.

Leave a Reply

