BUPA 10k manchester

imageMy second attempt at the manchester 10k Once again it was hot in a city famed for its dull rainy weather! I ran with a friend this time. At 2k it was clear that she could manage a faster pace than me so I told her to go. It is a bit easier if you just have yourself to think about rather than ‘ am I holding them back’ ‘ do I really need to walk now or can I push on?’ I think that it was easier than last year, and I think that I walked less, but not much as I only knocked 2-3 minutes off my finish time! But a PB is a PB! My friend did well and finished 3 minutes and 4,000 runners before me! so now, post shower and with a nice glass of Pimms ( this probably is summer after all)) How do I feel? Well strangely invigorated.. Although I had hoped ( un realistically) for a better time -( I had set my sights on 70 minutes but I haven’t even managed a 5 k in under 35!) I want to push on and do some more races and try to improve my times. I’m also wondering if some vitamin D supplements may help. I found out this week that my levels are a bit low..deficiency is classed as <30, and 30 -50  as needling supplements. Mine was 32 ( on a blood test). I was a bit surprised, as I think of myself as healthy, but it seems that the years of avoiding fatty foods, staying indoors and covering up/using sun block have caught up with me. Allegedly low levels can make you feel tired, depressed and achy. So I have started a supplement. Let’s see if it makes a difference over the next 2-3 months. On my radar for my next attempt is the Asda Jane Tomlinson 10k in Burnley, 22nd June. It will be a hilly course so my time won’t be better, but I think that I will do it just because I want to! i hope running activities are going well with you all and that you are getting good weather for it love and best wishes, Julie xx

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, fitness, fun, healthy diet, low fat, middle aged women, Nutrition, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to BUPA 10k manchester

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Hey Julie, nice going I did it too!

  2. mawil1 says:

    Thanks, and Well done to you too! I looked our for someone with a ‘fit for 365’ top but didn’t see you, not that you would be wearing that! How did you find it? Were you pleased with your time?

  3. fitfor365 says:

    It was good, really pleased with my time. I have got a calf injury which Im icing as I type. Great day, sad its over now.

  4. bitzy-ku says:

    Congratulations – very well done great achievement be proud 🙂 x

  5. pwhent says:

    Well done on your PB Julie. What a great day for it too. Now for the next one!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! As we were passing rivington I pointed it out to my friend saying that it is the venue for the ironman in July. ‘Hilly’ she said. I expect that you know that already. It looked lovely in the sun.

      • pwhent says:

        Yes I have seen from the course profile on the IM web site that it is hilly. But thank you for the reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

