A proud moment … My son’s first Parkrun.

Earlier in the week joe agreed to do Parkrun with me. I have tried to persuade him in the past and he has done a lap with me, but now he is at quite a sporty school he seems more confident and willing to give it a go. I printed off a barcode for him and he knew that it was a commitment!

He started with me and after 200m it was clear that he was comfortable going faster so I told him to go at his own pace. I felt proud and somewhat surprised as he glided ahead. I think he did the first mile in about 10 minutes. In lap 2 I caught up with him and we ran together, then lap 3 he walked a bit and needed some encouragement. At the end he put on a sprint – fast enough to stretch me and we finished almost neck and neck, him a step ahead. 

I think that he might have ‘hustled’ me a bit. Last year when I was trying to encourage him I offered a bribe – a pound if he finished and 2 if he beat me. He remembered this and asked me about it in the car on the way there! I did wonder if he was saving his energy on the last lap so that he could beat me in the final sprint.  When all is said and done he ran 5k faster than my first time and I am proud of him for that. Even today we were only 3minutes off my PB!

Now the gloves are off. I told him that next week there would be no mercy, I’ m not going to wait for him and he will have to run all the way to win. He says he can beat me. I’ll love it if he does. 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A proud moment … My son’s first Parkrun.

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    It sounds like you have some serious competition there, ha… Enjoy x

  2. bitzy-ku says:

    Brilliant extra inspiration ! Glad it went so well for you both – well done 🙂 x

  3. pwhent says:

    That fantastic Julie. It sounds like you have been a great example to Joe with your running. And now there is family bragging rights and money at stake, it’s serious. You’ve created another runner. Good luck to both of you next week 🙂

Leave a Reply

