Progress report

ImageYou won’t have seen a progress report on this blog for a while, due to erm, well a lack of progress to report! However I am now on track to achieving some of the goals I set for myself back in March, only  3 months late but better late than never. Holiday time at Christmas, Easter and now may has helped me to get my mileage up to 10 per week as planned and I’d like to slowly increase that to 4x the amount by October. I’m thinking that if I can achieve that I’ll be ready for a marathon training programme. My other goal for march was to knock 30s off my Parkrun PB, but I have only managed to get 20s off. I thought that I might do it today but I had to pit stop after lap 1for a toilet break! It was worth it, I enjoyed the rest of the run much more! I’m building up my long runs (10% per week) so tomorrow I’m planning 12-12k. Should I be thinking about taking gels/ food along or is it better to let your body learn to adapt? Juliex

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, half marathon, holidays, middle aged women, Nutrition, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Progress report

  1. pwhent says:

    A very impressive steady increase in mileage. Well done! You shouldn’t need gels for a 12k run. Just a big bowl of porridge for breakfast.

  2. fitandperky says:

    Good work, Julie. You should be able to run for at least an hour without taking anything else on board. If your “goal” is longer, ie a half marathon, then yes, at some stage you will need to practice with gels, finding one that suits you.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks, I’ll probably need to start thinking about it in a few weeks. My goal at the moment is just to increase my ‘base mileage’ per week. It does take me over an hour to do 10k but I want my body to learn to mobilise energy stores! Once I’m up to 10 or 11miles on my long run I might look for a half marathon to see how it goes!

  3. Looking good! I agree with the others…you should be okay up to 12k without anything, but if it’s really hot or if (no offense, I don’t know your speed!) you run on the slower side, then you might consider some Nuun or water. 🙂 And I am no expert, but I believe that most people starting a marathon program should be well used to running 20-mile weeks to start (at least a month or so.) Of course, it depends on the program and each person’s goals, but just kind of a rule of thumb for me! Good luck!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks, it’s reassuring that everyone has the same idea. I’m pretty slow so I do take water if I’m going to be out more than an hour. I’m sort of pre planning for a marathon, in that if I can build up to a steady mileage ( I had been told 40 per week) then at point I’d be ready to start a 16wk marathon plan. So I have given myself 6 months to do that. At the moment I can’t imagine 40 per week! But it’s not that long since I couldn’t imagine running 5k so I’m open minded! Thanks for the encouragement 😀

  4. Again, would agree with everyone else regarding gels, shouldn’t need them for a 10K training run, although I’ve been known to have one before a 10K race!

    Most marathon training plans I’ve seen suggest being able to run 20 – 25 miles a week regularly before embarking on more than a get you round plan. The first 4 weeks of most plans are normally targeted at just building up your fitness to a level to cope with the weeks to come. To put in perspective I used a 3:30 plan from Runners World for London this year and that saw me running 35 or so miles a week after the first weeks peaking around 45 – 50 around weeks 12 – 14 with a longest run of 22miles.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

