A true picture

Preston Parkrun may 31stA couple of weeks ago I posted a picture of me running. To be honest it didn’t really look like me, as I looked ‘cool’ and like I was really running! This week I’m sharing a photograph taken at last week’s park run, which is much more realistic, (gurning face, muffin top etc). Also in the picture is my son, aka ‘the hustler’ with a cheeky grin. The week before he did his first Parkrun and challenged me for the following week, saying that he would beat me. We did most of the 5 k together, (though I had to detour to the loo after the first lap) and in the last mile he did have a few walk breaks. As we came into the last stretch, he put on a sprint which I was expecting him to do so I matched his speed. The photographer snapped us at the moment when he put in some extra acceleration and that cheeky grin is saying ‘ I bet you weren’t expecting this mum!’. He’s right, I wasn’t, but I did match him and we crossed the line together. The picture captures my surprise and his amusement!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, novice, parkrun, running, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A true picture

  1. bitzy-ku says:

    You look great together, great incentive well done 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

