A long run to build endurance, strength and character!

imageToday’s long run called for 8 miles, my longest distance since the half marathon last year. Even before the half I had only run 10 miles once! Anyway I decided to add together 2 shorter runs I do off road with a short road link. One of the interesting things about running off road is that you never get the same run twice, plants grow and die, trees leaf and blossom and rivers swell so a route can change in only a couple of weeks. Today’s run featured the following character building episodes, cow pats, flies ( note to self, breathe in through the nose, out through the mouth)  slurry slides where there used to be a path, oh and then as I got out of the fields and onto the farm track a whole herd of cows, looking at me. It was quite spooky, the hill sloped down to the trail and the cows were on the hill and the trail like raked seating in a theatre, I could see every face regarding me. It was like a bovine ‘village of the damned’. As they were all friesian cows it added to the black and white  effect. Fortunately, as I walked very slowly (any excuse) towards them , they parted to allow me along the path. Next the weather changed and there was a thunderstorm. I thought about taking a shortcut but decided to carry on. When I got to the road the rain stopped and the sun came out for a glorious blast under the clouds. It lit the whole place up, the grass was the brightest green, the buttercups were glowing golden yellow. It lifted my spirits and I made my way to the canal for the second loop. Of course having committed to the canal loop the rain started again. This time it was more of a shower rather than those heavy drops that come with the thunder. It reminded me or the ‘tropical shower experience’ I had on a spa day hubby gave me for Christmas. It was cooling and helped me to put a bit more welly into my running. Of course the good thing about rain is that it is nice when it stops, so quiet and peaceful. it was a long run so I took it nice and slowly and in the end I covered almost 9 miles. As always it was hilly. Hills used to be a real handicap, but now I’m getting better at plodding up them and I can feel that my legs are stronger, I see them as an advantage.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, half marathon, map my run, middle aged women, muscle building, novice, running, sightseing, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A long run to build endurance, strength and character!

  1. pwhent says:

    Well done Julie, that sounds like an eventful run!!

Leave a Reply

