Parkrun and other random thoughts.

image

Hubby and I were chatting about tattoos the other night. Neither of us has one ( although I accidentally started a rumour in theatres once that I have ‘love’ and ‘hate’ tattooed around my nipples) and I don’t want one.

I did say however , that in the very unlikely event of me ever completing a full ironman ( I can’t swim front crawl or ride a bike), that I would then get the tattoo, on my bum, where no one could see it.  Knowing that it was there would be enough for me. Well no one would see it until I was old and frail and in a nursing home. Then someone would roll me over one day to wipe my bottom and they’d see it and say ‘wow! She was an ironman once’ and they’d remember that all the dotty old ladies were young and lively once and treat them with respect.

As I’m unlikely to ever do an ironman it might be more pertinent to have a cupcake tattoo instead!

Parkrun today.

It was a lovely morning, sunny but with a slight breeze off the river. A third of the route runs down a tree lined avenue which is nice and shady ( see picture). Despite that it felt like a struggle, my hands and face were dripping with sweat ( nice details huh?). Psychologically I struggled too, as I saw a couple of people who normally finish behind me running off ahead and I couldn’t catch them.  I wanted to try for a PB but it wasn’t happening, I felt so disheartened in the third lap that I almost cried when I thought that I’d hit 36 minutes. Silly I know but I’ve been feeling a bit sorry for myself and it would have cheered me up to get a PB. Anyway I had things to do so I went straight home rather than staying for a drink. I stepped on the scales before getting I to the shower and was surprised to find that I was 2lb lighter than this morning! Dehydration! A litre of water would weigh 2.2lb and it’s entirely likely that I sweated that much!

when all is said and done my time came out at 35:54, not a PB but it was under 36 mins so I can’t complain. All that fuss over nothing!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, novice, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Parkrun and other random thoughts.

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Better your nipples than your knuckles (where men usually display their ambivalence to life). The tyranny of the PB, huh! Don’t forget only a small proportion of people are doing any exercise at all. Anyone who is doing any running at any speed is a perpetual winner.

    • mawil1 says:

      Good comment for putting things in perspective! 2yrs ago I couldn’t run at all, so yes I should be pleased with my continued effort. Also I think that the running bug is catching, quite a few people I know have taken it up too so that’s even better! Thanks for making me see. Julie

  2. bitzy-ku says:

    You still did it, well done, PB another day -you weren’t far from it 🙂 xx

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks , yes Its so typical of me that I get so involved in where I want to be that sometimes I don’t appreciate where I am. Are you still running?

      • bitzy-ku says:

        On and off, had a spate of head cold/hay fever that’s played me up and made breathing difficult and I don’t handle the heat very well. I had an accident and came off my bike last week so I’m getting over the aches and bruises. It’s funny how we do focus on different things when compared to last year as you say neither of us were running – we’ve come a long way, you’ll feel better next run 🙂 x

      • mawil1 says:

        I feel better already! Sometimes one needs better perspective, and sometimes it takes other people to provide that for you, so thank you!
        Hay fever must be pretty awful, my son has it so were dosing him up with antihistamines every day, but it must make being outdoors much less of a pleasure.
        Good for you getting out on the bike, and being so casual about falling off! Do you think that you have changed there too? When I first started running I did fall over a few times! In the past when I have slipped in the snow I have hated it, but after tripping up a few times I realised that I’d just learned to relax and roll over! Less painful than skidding along on my hands and knees! I’m still afraid of going over the handlebars though!

      • bitzy-ku says:

        There’s absolutely nothing wrong with an off day here and and like you say you do learn to pick yourself up with the trips and stumbles! It’s the carrying on that shows your true character so be proud if how you have dug deep and now it looks like you are a regular of the park run 🙂 go you!!!
        Yes the hay fever is getting me down, I’m in between trying a decongestant and anti histamines tho neither seem to clear it up, maybe I expect too much, I sympathise with your son it’s very aggravating 😦 Did he do the park run with you yesterday?
        I was “lucky” with my bike accident I fell to one side as my bike went from under me, hit the kerb by turning too soon so right hand side took a good slamming particularly the corner of my right knee – that’s a corker of a bruise and cut. I dread the over the handlebars too, I’ve never had that one and hope I never do!! I hope you never experience it either! X

      • mawil1 says:

        No joe didn’t do Parkrun as he sometimes has other commitments on a Saturday but hopefully he will when he can. He has some other allergies so got tested and at the time the paediatrician did tell us that there is a desensitisation programme for hay fever that he could do, it takes about 2 years. We thought that we would see how he gets on over the next couple of summers and how difficult it is to control. I don’t know if they offer it to adults too, but if you can’t control it with normal meds it might be worth a look?
        I appreciate what you are saying about being ‘lucky’ with your bike accident. Even so, it still sounds grim! I hope that you recover quickly! Best wishes, Julie x

      • bitzy-ku says:

        Thank you for all of this Julie, I’ll certainly do dome investigating, I hope Joe finds some relief from it all. Good luck to us both and have a good Sunday, nice to talk to you 🙂 xxxx

  3. shazruns says:

    Sometimes we need to breath and enjoy rather than charge and stress, I am really bad for that. The PB will come just be patient. Until then head up, breath, smile and enjoy

Leave a Reply

