Yay Parkrun!

No, no PB before you ask, it’s just a ‘yay’ because I went and pushed myself! To be honest I haven’t got my official time yet, but the garmin says no.

some days things just go well. I woke up nice and early, felt refreshed, had a leisurely breakfast, got there in time, met some people I remembered from school ( they didn’t remember me, maybe that’s a good thing!).

My bum was now suffering from the DOMS after those one legged bridges, which was odd as I’ve never had it there before! I see it as a good thing, those glutes were finally getting the exercise they need. Maybe I’m about to develop the small pert bum I’ve always wanted, just when I’ve come to terms with the one I’ve got (that’s what happens when you’re in your 40’s you realise nobody cares so get over it). I wondered how it would affect the run. In fact the run seemed to make it go away, only to return after the drive home.

pushed myself a bit and I think I got around the whole first mile without stopping once, subsequent laps were a bit more difficult but I tried to keep going.

so that’s my 30 minutes aerobic, got my intervals to do this evening for the fat burn revolution. I was supposed to do them last night but didn’t  although I’d managed some rowing in the morning. She does say in the book not to push yourself too hard in the first week, it’s important to get used to the exercises etc so I’m not going to let it bother me. If I end up with a few added days and it takes 14 weeks instead of 12  that’s OK , but I hope not, I want to do better next week.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, healthy diet, interval training, Julia buckley, map my run, middle aged women, muscle building, My fitness pal, Nutrition, parkrun, running, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yay Parkrun!

  1. bitzy-ku says:

    You will and you keep doing something so well done you – I’m intrigued by this book so got it out from the library! I’m planning to start the exercises later today but it all has to be home based with little equipment so I won’t be rowing!! See if I can gather some dumbbells together – I’ll get back to you on the one legged bridges eek! X well done on your park run 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Good for you! The thing about it is that you can do it at home. Mind you in phase 3 you need a bench of some sort to lie on. She says that you can use a small but sturdy coffee table ( haven’t got one) so I might have to improvise with lining up some dining chairs! Good luck with it, it is quite hard work but doesn’t take up too much time. Julie

      >

Leave a Reply

