Week1 of the fat burn revolution done, and I give myself an appraisal

Well Julie, you’ve complete the first week of ‘the fat burn revolution’ how do you rate it?

Um I say I’d give myself 7/10

Quite a positive score, a high number but room for improvement . So what went well?

well I was pleased that on the diet side I managed to avoid sugary treats and alcohol. I ate when I felt hungry.  Over the week I had 1 biscuit, 1cornetto, 1glass of champagne and 1microwave meal. Oh and 50g of very dark chocolate. Not bad I think for me. We had natural yogurt with fresh fruit instead of sugary ones and I had lots of salads and veggies. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the exercise sessions can be done in 30 minutes as planned and the built in rests make them manageable.

Anything that didn’t go well?

well I’ve had a couple of extra rest days and I’d hoped to get off to a really good start.

why do you think that happened?

well I had something to do for work and I’d left it to the last minute, so it was a couple of late nights and early mornings to get it done.

anything to learn from that?

well I should have started it at the weekend like I thought I would instead of lazing around reading..

Anything else that didn’t go well?

well one day I didn’t have time to eat and I was really tired in the evening. Also  I find some of the exercises quite difficult, like the press ups and single leg bridges.

Can you do anything to make them easier?

well Julia writes in the book that the things that you find more difficult are probably the ones that are doing you the most good, so you should really concentrate on those. In fairness I did think that the press ups were a bit easier second time around.

The only other thing is that I have done much less running this week. A couple of times I’ve unearthed the rowing machine and done that instead, it’s just a bit quicker than going for a run.

Dont some experts recommend cross training for runners, saying that it improves your fitness and reduces your risk of injury?

Maybe I should look into that.

Overall, what would you say that you have learned, if anything, from this week?

If I eat more regularly I have more energy.

Now I know that the workouts are short but hard I have the psychological advantage of knowing that I can fit them in. Also judging by the DOMS very muscle in my body has had a workout at some point this week!

Well that sounds very positive. Any action points for next week?

I need to take more food with me to work. I can see now how unrealistic it is to expect to keep going for 12 to 14 hours on a sandwich and an apple. Sometimes I have taken food but can’t eat it because it needs preparation and a sit down ( like my veg tangine and pitta bread). On days where I know that there’s a chance that I won’t get a lunch break I need to take something I can eat on the run.

So you will be continuing with the programme next week?
Definitely. I’m aiming for more consistency in getting the workouts done each day.
Great,let us know how you get on next week!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, interval training, Julia buckley, middle aged women, muscle building, My fitness pal, Nutrition, running, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

