A jigsaw comes together

There has been a slight hiatus in ‘the fat burn revolution’. Following Fridays (enthusiastic downhill) run I managed to ‘put my back out’ and on Saturday morning woke up with the most immobilising, painful lumbar spasm I have ever had.

to cut a long story short, I visited a chiropractor, have been doing exercises and icing all weekend and am going back for review this morning. I did improve rapidly over 24 hrs, and this morning woke up with my ‘normal’ level of back pain and stiffness.

i had a similar thing last year, not as severe initially but it took weeks to improve. At that time I did a bit of reading and thought that I probably had a short iliopsoas muscle as I sit at a desk/dining table/steering wheel most of the time. Since starting the exercise programme for the fat burn revolution I also found that I have no strength in my gluteal muscles at all,being unable to do the single leg bridges, which gave me immediate cramp in my hamstrings. This might explain why I get low back pain from running.

It all fits together, and I think that I have an ‘anterior pelvic tilt’ which I can improve by stretching hip flexors, strengthening glutes and strengthening abdominal core. When you search for it there’s quite a bit written about it, but I’ve never seen anything about it in runners magazines. I suspect that’s because it’s something that affects people with life long  sedentary -ism and most runners don’t fall into that category..

On the bright side, now I have identified the problem I can attempt to solve it. These people seem to have a logical approach;image

As well as preventing my low back pain, strengthening my glutes may also improve my ‘push off’ and running speed and efficiency,, but most importantly I like to think that it’s going to help me avoid chronic back pain in my old age!

this journey to health and fitness is more complicated than I thought it would be!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, interval training, Julia buckley, map my run, middle aged women, muscle building, My fitness pal, novice, Nutrition, parkrun, reading, running, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A jigsaw comes together

  1. bitzy-ku says:

    I always like to think these things will be a walk in the park and be surrounded by soft fluffy linings…. Then I try something and the reality kicks in – at least you are trying and getting some answers as you go. Look after yourself and hopefully you’ll be back to full strength soon. 🙂 x

  2. That sounds painful! I hope all the exercises continue to help get it right. It is quite complex all this running stuff – I’ve learnt about muscles I never even knew I had, and usually I learn about them when they start to get a bit ouchy! It’s good to be getting strong and fit and making these muscles all work together.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes! A positive attitude is important isn’t it? I’m so impatient though! I’ll update about the exercises in a couple of weeks and let you know if I have developed ‘buns of steel’ ha ha!

  3. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    Glad to hear speedy recovery! Great blog. Always inspiring!

Leave a Reply

