Rave run

West sands at St Andrews, where 'chariots of fire' was filmed.

West sands at St Andrews, where ‘chariots of fire’ was filmed.

Last week I couldn’t stand up straight, never mind run, but the miracle that is the human body has sorted itself out and now I can move around pretty normally. It does mean that I spent a whole week doing physio and not running. I hadn’t realised how my lifestyle had changed and that exercise of some sort or another had become part of it. Without it I have felt a bit lost and have gained a couple of pounds!
By this weekend I felt ready to give running a go, but wasn’t going to be home, having arranged to meet some friends at our old alma mater, St. Andrews university. Where else would you choose for e rejuvenating, spirit enhancing run other than the beach at St Andrews? I packed my trainers in anticipation, although the weather forecast was rain and I was predicting a substantial alcohol intake on Saturday night. On Sunday morning I awoke early, looked out of the window and to my surprise it was a beautiful sunny day. Quick as a flash I was dressed and out. 

It was lovely out on the beach, sunny with a cool breeze blowing off the sea. Expectations on the enjoyment front were exceeded!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, change, fitness, fun, healthy diet, holidays, impulsive decisions, map my run, middle aged women, muscle building, My fitness pal, running, sightseing, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rave run

  1. Sounds like pure happiness to run along that beach 🙂

  2. txa1265 says:

    That looks like a fantastic time! This is why you should always have running gear with you at all times 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Good point! Maybe that’s what I should do with my old trainers keep a pair in the back of the car or at work. Although they are officially to old for regular running they would be ok for an impromptu run!

  3. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    Beautiful view! Glad you are feeling better!

  4. pwhent says:

    I am glad you are feeling better and where better for your comeback run than that beautiful beach!!

  5. So... says:

    What a lovely picture! I can only imagine how exhilarating it might have been. Glad you had a rave run 🙂

Leave a Reply

