Grumpy guts.

Not running. Why? Dunno 

set the alarm for 5;45, woke up, daylight, cloudy but not actually raining. But I’m not running. Haven’t run all weekend. 

Ran last Sunday and midweek. Both were good runs, you would think that that would motivate me to get out. It’s been a busy weekend full of chores, and a week of the same ahead. I can do without the hassle of a running schedule too.

i was disappointed when I hurt my back, just when I was getting going with the fat burn programme. I think that maybe the last few weeks of not achieving my goals has been getting me down, not just running but one or two other things where I have wasted time trying to do something and not achieved it, either not planned it properly or not left enough time.

Obviously  the thing to do with the running/ fat burn is just to start again, either back at the beginning or where I left off. But I’m reluctant to try and fail again. Twice per day is a big commitment. 

I’ve gained 3lb in the last month which is also disappointing, it was so hard to lose it.

so I’m feeling grumpy. I’d probably feel better if I went for a run but I’m sulking instead.

I’ll get over it at some point.

how do you deal with low motivation?

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, fear, fitness, fun, habits, Julia buckley, middle aged women, Motivation, muscle building, My fitness pal, novice, Nutrition, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Grumpy guts.

  1. txa1265 says:

    It is funny you post this now – my post scheduled for this morning is about just these moments: I look around at everyone in the early stages of marathon training being so motivated … and know that in a few weeks we’ll be reading all of the posts about lacking motivation … it is a tough cycle.

    For me it is just a matter of getting up and going. Maybe I don’t go as far as planned, maybe I just run rather than doing planned speed work or whatever. As for eating, I try to forgive myself … which isn’t easy given my history. And I know that I cannot go back, but that tomorrow is a new start. I look at what I have done in the past, how amazing it is being in my late 40s and in the shape I am now, and the hard work it took – and how I don’t EVER want to go back to where I was even in early 2012, or the low-level running commitment I did for over 20 years.

    Good luck … it is not easy! But you have conquered challenges before, so you can do this!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for your reply. Nice to know I got in early with the lack of motivation blog!! Sadly though sometimes I feel like everyone else’s success and motivation throws my lack of it into relief. But it’s time to get over the pity party, other people succeed because, like you they get on with it and keep on getting on with it. You have achieved so much and that must have been so hard in the beginning, just to believe that you could succeed. So yes, I just need to start again, focus, keep up some steady consistency and not expect too much. Oh and remember that I do this for fun! I do forget sometimes!😊

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    I think maybe you should take a day off, without the guilt! Rest up, relax and take another look at those targets and schedules! If you must go back to the beginning then do so;familiar ground will feel achievable and reinstate some confidence. I also think it’s time you looked back! Look how far you have come! I think you are inspirational, don’t be down, be proud x

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Elaine! You are a rock of support as always. Although I have done it a dozen times before ( so I should be good at it by now!) it’s time to reflect review and start again, but at leas when I say start again I can ‘start’ with 5k which used to seem impossible! I might try just running for fun for a couple of weeks, forgetting goals and targets. Although I am aware that the ballot for the London marathon will be drawn soon and I’m a bit worried that I might get a place, being so un prepared!

  3. pwhent says:

    I suffer from the occasional mojo funk (as I think you know!!). My experience is that you can’t force it – it just comes back and finds you. You’ll be back running in no time. Good luck.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Peter, I hope so. To be fair your 1day slump in a year of intense training was very impressive! How is the training for your next tri going?

  4. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    I think sometimes our body and mind needs a mental check-out from running. I needed a break, too, and just took a 3 day hiatus ( after vacation week to boot) and am now feeling like I am ready to rock out again. Don’t beat yourself up mentally * I tend to do this* and know you will be back in the saddle soon! M

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks, I ‘m just catching up wit my blog ( inbetween cooking dinner and supervising loom bands)and just read your post ‘break time’. It really hits home. Maybe I’ll get out tonight too! Have fun!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    i am new to running and weirdly i REALLY struggled with motivation in the begining. I did the Cough to 5K training and i found blogging about it and the support from all my blog buddies RALLY helped me through it. Also… its that taking the first step out the door that is the biggest hurdle for me… once i am out there i am SO happy i am… good luck and keep up the fab work xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Well done for getting out there when you didn’t really feel like it! I don’t know what’s going on with me just now, I think I’m just too busy and stressed! I have a week off work soon which should help. I don’t want to give up, I just seem to have strayed from the path a little! Thanks for your support. Juliex

Leave a Reply

