The end of summer.

Summer is coming to and end and I’m actually quite happy about it! I love the long days and the warm weather, but the school holidays are a killer! 

Yup. She did her own cleaning. Admire the summery flowers!

Yup. She did her own cleaning. Admire the summery flowers!

Holiday childcare doesn’t cover the working day and my cleaning lady goes on holiday for a month. I get a little behind with everything, especially if you throw in a few social events. Next thing I’m lying in bed in the morning trying to decide whether to go for a run, do some work or some housework. Paralysed by indecision I just end up staying in bed!  Being the kind of girl I am, I realised what was happening and packed up some work to bring home. Having made a start on it, I feel less guilty/stressed/grumpy and ready to pick up the running again.

Removing the boundaries.

I have made one or two changes to facilitate more running and fitness. I’ve had my hair cut short, which seems to have been a good decision fashion wise also, as everyone has been very complimentary about my new look. Thank you nice people! I have put spare running kit in the boot of my car, just in case I find myself in a position to go for an impromptu run. I’ve got to admit, I can’t see myself twirling like superman in a phone box: he might have been happy to  go out with his underpants over his tights but if he’d had to get into a sports bra there would have been considerable delays in saving the world!

I’m also going to dig out my old trainers and put them under the desk in my office. Why? Well my office is on the 4th floor. If I run up and down stairs for 10 minutes that’s a good HIIT workout. If I’m working late I can justify a 10 minute break. 

Since I stopped running, I put a couple of pounds on, but then my appetite adjusted and thinks went back to normal. I’ve noticed other changes though, I’ve started to feel the cold again, a bit spotty , shadows under the eyes, and just generally sluggish. I need to get some oxygen circulating through those tissues!

now we have a week off. Despite some trepidation about the hard work ahead of me, at least I have an opportunity for some regular exercise and to get some fitness back. Hopefully I will find some enjoyment too, I’m apprehensive that it will be hard and painful and that I won’t have the motivation to carry on. I suppose that’s why most people don’t start in the first place, but I started and I liked it, so I can start again☺️

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, Careers, change, fear, fitness, fun, habits, interval training, middle aged women, Motivation, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The end of summer.

  1. oscardiamond says:

    You seem to have mislaid your running mojo! It must be the time of year. I know three other runners who have currently lost their motivation. You’ve got a plan to regain it which is the main thing. My advice is to go for more short runs and forget about speed or comparisons with how you were running previously.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for the advice, you’ve managed to keep going for 5 years so I’m sure that you know your stuff! I don’t know where I went wrong, I was really enjoying my running before I hurt my back, I was desperate to get back to it and had a couple of good runs and then I just seemed to lose my way. Anyway tomorrow’s the day, but probably not Parkrun, too much pressure! Thanks for your support. Julie

      >

  2. All those things sound like great motivation to get out and run. A 10 minute break really helps with being productive and having stairs is great. Holidays are a killer for trying to stay focused so don’t be too hard on yourself. It really is about removing the boundaries as you say and remembering how good getting out there and running makes us feel. Have you got an event coming up to help keep you focused?

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for your comment. I have mixed feelings about planning an event, I saw a half marathon in Oxford in October which I thought might be good for a family weekend too, but worried that the pressure to be ready would be counter productive! I just need to get back to it first! Do you feel under pressure training for an event?

      • It’s not nice to feel pressured, and better not to enter an event it it’s not going to work with all the other things that are happening in life. I read a book called Lazy Runner and in it Marie Bean really stresses that when signing up for an event consider the amount of training and all other commitments before signing up. Love that book. I have felt nervous about events but my goals are to run all the way and finish. I refuse to beat myself up if I do a slower time than expected because to participate is what’s important. I like events because they keep me focused and getting out there. And they are always so much fun. And then at the end when I’ve finished, the feelings of accomplishment stir me up to keep going 🙂 But it’s a personal thing, some of us love events and others just run because we love running 🙂

      • mawil1 says:

        I have done a couple of events in the past, and you’re right that it was fun. The second time I did a 10k I was in a faster group than the first, and there was a lot more crowd support earlier on in the day so I could see how it can be helpful. Maybe I should try to do more but within my abilities ( ie 10 and 5 k) because then I know I can finish it, so less pressure, but it might give me focus. Thanks for your comment, it’s given me something to consider! Julie

  3. So... says:

    Hi Julie.
    I love the starting again bit. Been in the same boat more or less and it’s back to basics, yet again.A fellow runner suggested getting back to doing the 5ks regularly, 5 days a week and that’s what I’ve been doing lately.
    I’d put myself under pressure and ruined a good streak, so now it’s “hasten slowly”.

    • mawil1 says:

      I really empathise with the ‘yet again’. I’ve lost counts of the new starts and new plans I’ve had over the last year. There’s no getting away from the fact that running requires a sustained and steady commitment whereas I’m someone who crams for exams, writes reports and presentations the night before a deadline and thinks nothing of an ‘all nighter’ to get it done. I don t know if anyone has ever studied whether you can do the equivalent of ‘cramming’ for a race, just running multiple times per day for a weekend or a week – I’m assuming that it would lead to injury! Anyway, the new plan, 2 miles per day 5x per week, 1 mile out, 1back. No more than 30 minutes, I should be able to manage that? How are you doing with your 5k’s?

  4. pwhent says:

    The very fact you have made the arrangements you have to make running easy says that you are motivated. It is a strange time of year moving from summer to Autumn and starting to think about running in cooler weather. Personally I like it. Good luck with your efforts. Also welcome to the short hair brigade. Mine has almost grown back but I quite liked it and may do it again!!!

    • Mimi Loves to Run says:

      Love reading your blog. Great to commiserate with others and share and encourage regarding working out & running. Stairs are hard and such a good work-out! Probably actually harder than running two miles. Great idea abour bringing shoes. I need to do that, too. Looking forward to the fall!! M

      • mawil1 says:

        Thanks for your kind comments about my blog mimi! One of the great things about blogging is that people share their top tips with you. I think I should write a post acknowledging them all!

      • Mimi Loves to Run says:

        I love that idea. Would love to read it! Yes, inspiring to hear advice from others. Have a great week. M

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks peter, I’m definately keeping the short hair for a while. I did yoga yesterday and it was great not to have hair flopping over my face! As for the newest of the new plans, let’s see how long I manage to keep it up. At least with each one I make a little bit of progress!

Leave a Reply

