Staycation!

We are having a holiday at home and it’s fab! Stay in bed as long as you like, breakfast with the family in our jammies, everything you need to do whatever you like close to hand, no packing, unpacking, forgetting, being late, stressing. Sometimes a staycation is just what you need. 

We started with an exercise binge. I went for my 2 mile run , which turns out to be 2.5 now I’ve measured it but that’s ok. Actually I was quite pleased, average pace 11:52 mins per mile, that’s good for me, and it’s a bit hilly, but that’s supposed to be good for strength. (If I run from the door I have no choice about hills).

illy.Short but hilly!

 

Hubby has been a bit concerned about my lack of running ie he has mentioned it a few times “aren’t you going for a run?”. So when I got back on Sunday he asked if I was going to yoga. Haven’t been for ages but thought ‘yes , why not.’ And off I went.

Does anyone else find yoga hard work? I know that I’m not fit, but quite frankly I get sweaty and out of breath doing yoga. Suppleness has never been much of a problem but strength could be an issue! I get into the pose but struggle to hold it for that count of 10 which is my count of 30! My muscles start to tremble and then I get all sweaty and wobbly. They do make you do planks and stuff ( ie proper exercises but with new yogi names) so it’s a good workout and you do stretch out muscles that you might not routinely .

on Sunday afternoon my son wanted to play badminton. He discovered it at holiday club and we haven’t played for ages so we booked a court and off we went. It was actually really good fun. I must be so much fitter than I used to be as running around the court was no problem and I found that I could get from one side of the court to the other in time to return a shot ( ok against a little boy, but we can ignore that small detail). We played boys against girl 2:1 and I’m pleased to say that I thrashed ’em!

Monday I was stiff but went for a run anyway. A bit slower but the stiffness did wear off once I was running. Today I woke up stiffer still, thighs, calves, buttocks, arms everywhere! It must be the yoga. Anyway I did the 2miles. Even slower. (12:13 per mile). Never mind I still look like a red tomato when I got back (thank you son for that comment) so I am trying. Friday I will probably have a pre park run rest day.

well time for more staycation activities so bye for now! Jxx 

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Staycation!

  1. txa1265 says:

    Yay for stay-cations! Last year our older son went to Europe and younger son had a winter Quebec trip, so our vacations were mostly around getting them to those places, but otherwise just about long weekends and doing stuff in the area. It can be great fun!

    And documenting my ‘weekly summary’ has made me realize how active my ‘rest days’ are – last week it was a 15 mile bike trip, the week before a hike and 4 hours of kayaking, etc … whew! 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of the stay-cation!

  2. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    I can completely relate. My big gusto tempo slowed to a halt and I have literally been pondering my running for two weeks. I am no sure why I skipped so many days. I think maybe sometimes our spirit/soul needs a break from “trying.” I don’t want to say running because ultimately the pay off is worth it. I am starting back tomorrow. Good luck and don’t beat yourself up too much. You are a kick ass Rock Star!

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha! You must have been reading my blog when I was reading yours! I was just commenting on you decision to run a half marathon. I agree sometimes you just can’t do it all. Thanks for your comment- I might make ‘I’m a kick ass rock star’ my new running mantra- I like it!

      • Mimi Loves to Run says:

        Ahh! Yay. Just read your nice comment. Thanks Julie! Glad I made it back to here at least first. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

