Little surprises!, and thinking’fast’

Only 1 run this week.Last Sunday we went on a long family walk which was lovely. This week, including travel time, I’ve put in 60 hrs at work, so no time for running until today.

I persuaded my son to come out with me and we did one of my favourite routes image.

I don’t know if it’s simply because he’s growing, or whether it’s the fact that they do sport every day at his new school, but his fitness has improved so much(first surprise!) When we set off he was prancing and dancing, but in true tortoise and hare fashion by the time we got to 3 miles he needed a bit of encouragement! In total we did just under 4, and apart from the last mile he didn’t hold me back at all. I think there real potential for a running buddy there, well until he gets really fast!

I hadn’t done this route for months. In some respects it seemed shorter and easier than I remebered it, but I suspect that my general lack of running means that I’m less tired when I do go. It’s easier on the muscles but harder on the lungs! I knew that there were plans to replace the level crossing with a footbridge.
image
This is the level crossing. I was expecting to see a little metal footbridge over it, so imagine my surprise to see this!
image
Yes! It’s a full blown stone bridge! The railway line traverses a golf course, so I don’t know if they have had any input into it. It’s a beautiful course but I wonder if the level crossing stops them being used for competitions? That kind of bridge looks worthy of a national tournament!
I’m chilling a bit about my lack of running and trying to be philosophical, I choose my own priorities and at the moment I have chosen to give running a lower priority.When I do run im going to embrace the things I enjoy about it, outdoors, daylight, grass and trees. Not worry about time or distance just now. Every cloud has a silver lining and all that so I thought that this would be a good opportunity to lose some weight. I think that it’s well recognised that running in itself doesn’t lead to weight loss, and to run well it’s easier if you eat well.

In the past I tried the 5:2 diet where you eat less (about 500 calories)for 2 days and normally (estimated for me at 1700 calories) for the rest. When I tried it before I was also trying to run and it didn’t work for me, my legs were so heavy and aching I just didn’t have any energy on the fast day or the following day. Having re read the book I think where I might have been going wrong was underestimating the amount that I needed to eat on normal days, I think that I was Eating about 1400 calories (net, I would add extra to cover any running) on the non fasting days, which is normal if you’re trying to lose weight through calorie restriction but probably converts your 2 day fast into chronic under eating, and that can reduce your muscle mass.

So now, if I’m not running I can try it again, then when I do come back to running hopefully I will be a stone or 2 lighter, and it will be easier to run without the added burden of fat to carry! I am a little bit overweight currently with a BMI of 26 and a body fat percentage of 34% so it would be good for my health to lose some. In addition there’s a lot being written about intermittent fasting and its benefits of reducing the likelihood of developing cancer or dementia, so I’m all for that.

ultimately though, I’d like to find the right balance of diet, exercise and work life balance. I don’t think that it’s ever consistent, there will be times when one aspect takes priority over the others.

is it possible to get this right in the modern world?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, fast diet, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, map my run, middle aged women, Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Little surprises!, and thinking’fast’

  1. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    I don’t think so on a forever note. Maybe if you are not a parent or do not work full time…but I do think the ups and downs teach us more about ourselves and that is what I like most!
    Sounds like a wonderful run. What beautiful, lush beauty you have there! Great write! ¤☆♡m

  2. So... says:

    Was wondering how your running was coming along. Nice to see you back!

  3. bitzy-ku says:

    Don’t rush it and don’t force it, you’ll know in yourself if you want to pick it up more xxxxx

  4. I think the whole work-life balance and eating in balance is something that I will always have to work on. But it’s worth the effort to try and get it right. Great post, love that you are running for the things that make you happy about running 🙂

  5. pwhent says:

    I don’t think anyone would claim to have their work, life, training balance where they want it. I think you are doing the right thing in not prioritising training while you have other things going on. Making running a chose is a sure fire way to put yourself off. I am sure running will come back to the fore when the time is right.

  6. shazruns says:

    Hope your running buddy comes out with you more often, nice to have company and to encourage them to Exercise

  7. That’s great you’ve got a running buddy in the making there – how ideal to find one who (a) lives in the same house and (b) may be susceptible to bribery?

    As for balance, I’ve no idea how anyone does it – I’m constantly juggling, and whilst one area of my life may be going well, there’s always one I’m massively failing at/ ignoring.

Leave a Reply

