Searching for a viewpoint

literally!

image

The M65 runs for 28 miles from Preston to Colne . It’s quite a nice motorway for scenery, when it isn’t raining. I live near one end and work at the other, however, I don’t really know the bits in between the junctions that I join/exit.

There is one bit that’s my favourite. Somewhere between junctions 7and 8 theres a view where the canal loops closely by the motorway, and it seems to run on the crest of a hill, giving it an appearance not unlike that of an ‘infinity pool’. Beyond it you can see the hills and the ‘U’ of the ribble valley, and in the sunrise and sunset, the water shimmers, the mist softens the scenery, and of course you get all the lightplay in the cloud formations. I have often thought that I would like to enjoy running along that bit of canal and having a bit more time to take in the view. I have even looked on the map to gauge where it is and find access.

Yesterday I did it. I don’t normally drive somewhere to run, but at the the moment as I’m running less and purely on a pleasure basis (as opposed to fitness and self improvement) I am allowing myself to do this.

to cut a long story short , I didn’t find the view I wanted to, and I had to come off the towpath as it was getting a bit dark. This was the best I could do;

imageI

I am planning to explore this further in the future and am determined to get a picture of my lovely view ( though I draw the line at stopping the car on the hard shoulder, don’t think that it would go down well with the Bill!).

Another great view that I wanted to share with you is the autumn leaves at Roddlesworth reservoir. I was there a couple of years ago, and it was one of those places that made me want to run there. Last year I missed the autumn leaves, not there at the right time in the right weather. Again, I thought that I would tr y to catch it this year, so we went there today. Although the trees on my road are turning golden, it was too early there, hence the picture of lovely green boughs instead!

Although I’m not running much at the moment, I realised last week that it isn’t over, I still have dreams of running a marathon. This comes back to the aforementioned motorway. There have been lots of roadworks on it for the last few weeks, so to avoid traffic queues I have been traveling the A and B roads through the towns round and about. The canal runs in pretty much the same direction as the motorway, and the railway. I happened to notice whilst sitting at the lights that there was a path down to the canal right next to burnley barracks railway station. It occurred to be that I could get the train there and run back home along the canal for a pre marathon training run of about 20 miles.  I caught myself by surprise thinking this thought! But pre contemplation and visualisation are recognised factors in successful endeavours! I just need to pre contemplate all the training runs that are going to get me there now!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, Motivation, running, sightseing, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Searching for a viewpoint

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Sounds like you’ve added extra value to running by being more mindful of the lovely environment. Don’t be tempted to sabotage this by worrying about times or speed or over Garminizing your runs.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Oscar, when I started it was the scenery that I enjoyed and the thrill of finding so many lovely places close to home. I think I’m getting my mojo back though because I was thinking about getting up super early tomorrow for a run before work!

  2. bitzy-ku says:

    Looks great 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks, I think that you are also one of those people who can see beauty around you without having to look far! Its just a matter of tuning in. 😊

  3. pwhent says:

    I love the idea of driving somewhere nice for a run. When I want a break from the roads I sometimes drive to a local park and run round the lake. Destination running – perhaps you have invented a new trend! I am loving this talk of a marathon….but you are right that there is a mental process in gearing yourself up to it. Take your time.

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi Peter, isn’t that what racing is about? Going to different places and having a run round the sites? In my wildest dreams, once I can do a marathon I plan to go round the world doing a bit of marathon tourism!! Maybe that’s what I will do in my retirement!

  4. Hedwigia says:

    Really enjoyed reading that. I bet you do build up to the marathon too. Enjoy the journey there though – your canal sounds great!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! I am growing quite fond of our canal ! I think the benefit is the towpath, something that you don’t get by a river. I think that my favourite is woodland trails though. Are you running much at present? What’s your favourite scenery?

Leave a Reply

