Running vs walking.

image

I’ve  been doing a bit of walking this week. Why walk when you can run? Why indeed ? But if you can’t run a walk is a good substitute, with certain advantages as I have discovered.

When you go for a walk you don’t need to get changed (no way could I go for a run without my sports bra!), a post walk shower is not essential for reasons of sweatiness, and it’s much easier to persuade children or friends to accompany you. You can chat with friends on a walk ( I don’t have anyone who wants to run with me, and runs at my speed and wants to run when I run). You can still cover the same number of miles, so you still use up the same number of calories, but it takes longer to do it. However, if you are spending time with family and friends away from the TV and electronic gizmo’s, then it’s time well spent, whereas if you leave your child being  babysat by the TV whilst you go for a run, that feels a bit self indulgent. There’s time to enjoy the scenery, and chat about it, take pictures if you wish, walk around a bit looking for a good view. The photo is the viewpoint that I was looking for last week. This is probably the nearest I’m going to get to it but I need better weather conditions to get a better pic. I took my son with me and he resolutely endured tiptoeing through the cowpats up and down the hills in order to get the best angle. Poor boy, he’s just beginning to suspect that I’m a bit eccentric! Mind you, I’m not as eccentric as the person who did this , also seen on our walk!

image

Walking is not as good as a run for improving cardiovascular fitness I think, I don’t spend enough time sweaty and out of breath, but compared to sitting on the sofa it has to be better!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, holidays, middle aged women, Motivation, reading, running, sightseing, stretching, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Running vs walking.

  1. Walking is lovely and makes a good change to always running – great post 🙂 Mmmm a shoe tree? Wish new running shoes grew on trees.

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Walking has an illustrious pedigree. No need to defend it. As you point out, you can miss so much if you are too running focussed and it doesn’t encourage you to be competitive.

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    i LOVE walking and i have had some of my BEST ‘workouts’ race/speed walking, i burn the same calories onver the equal distance and i often find that if i am running with someone and i need to walk, i can quite often keep up for a bit. Struggling with a very sore back at the mo i am keeping the momentum going by walking, its hard, but at least i feel like i am moving… i am using the walking to plan new running routes 🙂

  4. txa1265 says:

    My wife has bad joints and significant arthritis and cannot run, but we manage walks and some occasional bike rides … but mostly walks. She will never be able to run with me (and never has been able), but I love sharing walks together 🙂

  5. pwhent says:

    Great post. I spent 5 years in the Army and more specifically in the infantry so I am slightly scarred!!! Even so I like a good walk that ends at a pub!!

    • mawil1 says:

      That comment takes me back to 6th form ‘geoc soc’. We used to go walking in the lakes but the boys always wanted to get to the pub before closing time (3pm on a Sunday) so the walk always used to end with a run for last orders! I’m sure that that time in the infantry built up your fitness and stamina in a way that only marching a few hundred miles can!

  6. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    Love it! Walking is so good for you, too. I did a lot of walking with my doggie in Oct.!

Leave a Reply

