Am I back?

3 runs in 5 days! After 3 months of virtually nothing, How come?

Is it because hubby is at home doing the childcare?

Is it because the weather has become cool?

Is it because the clocks have gone back?

Is it because I’ve been really angry?

Probably a bit of everything. Last week I had a week off work with my son, but I ended up doing some work every day  Oh and everything broke, my tooth, my car, the dishwasher. I was so annoyed. I was annoyed with myself, I shouldn’t have planned to just go in to work for that one little thing(management stuff)- it always ends up being more. I’d planned to have a lovely fun week with Joe but it didn’t happen. A couple of things happened that upset me. I felt really let down, I’ve been struggling to get over it.

One of the things that I discovered about running is that it does help me to manage stress/ mood. This is how I think it is.

image

So on Monday morning the opportunity presented itself and I went for a run before work.  No immediate stress relief but I’d been for a run. It was a balmy morning and it was nice to be out.

On Wednesday I found that I was all by myself in clinic, no trainees, no medical students. All I had to do was see all the patients. It was lovely. Just a quiet undisturbed opportunity to sort people out, being kind to people who are concerned, seeing the relief in their eyes when you can say to them, ‘no this isn’t a breast cancer’, or building a relationship of trust when sometimes it is.

I think that many of the worlds great philosophies/religions highlight helping others as being the road to true happiness and fulfilment and although it’s easy to dismiss this when you are too busy feeling sorry for yourself I think it’s true.

I had to finish work early on Wednesday to sort out my car, so again the opportunity was there and I went for a run. On the way home  I saw people running ‘my’ 4mile road route ( it’s an obvious run round the block). Like an animal marking its territory I felt that I had to reclaim it as my own so I ran it after dinner.

Then a read a post by fit4365. John had re blogged a post by Leo babauta about  low motivation and ‘pushing through’. Basically it was just saying that when things get tough it isn’t time to give up, it’s time to push harder. I think that we all know that, but sometimes you need to hear it from someone else. So I decided to stop thinking about whether or not to quit a project and get on with it.

In his post Leo also applies ‘push on through’ to running, about how you need to keep going when you want to stop. I went out for a run again last night, because I’m on a bit of a roll now, and it was so funny that this kept popping into my head, when I felt the temptation to slow down and walk,’push on through’ so I did!

As an aside I had a lovely moment on last night’s run. It was dark but dry with a half moon. As I was running down a tree lined road, a lorry went past and caused a lot of leaves to fall off a tree. I found myself running through a gentle fall of twirling autumn leaves catching the light of the street lamps. It was so pretty and surreal that it made me smile. One of life’s small special moments😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, Careers, change, fitness, fun, habits, holidays, middle aged women, Motivation, running, sensitive people, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Am I back?

  1. So... says:

    Love the word picture you painted about your run.

  2. fitfor365 says:

    whatever the reason thats good

  3. pwhent says:

    Yay!! It doesn’t matter what made you start running again, the great thing is that you did which is great!! You are right when you say that running is a great stress buster. People laugh when you tell them that……until the try it!!

  4. Sounds like a tough week (I can relate…I broke a tooth and had car trouble too!). I love how running is like a great big recharge of the battery. Love the sound of the autumn leaves twirling and the street light view – sounds beautiful.

  5. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    YAY! I know the feeling♡

Leave a Reply

