November 2014……..

has been a busy month. Not much time for running or blogging, so apologies to people that I normally follow and comment on their blogs if they have noticed my absence! Even so, blog traffic has been a bit light I think, many People must be busy with either work, increasing their miles ready for a spring marathon, or maybe just hiberbnating! Here are my monthly miles

soimage

And this is last year;
image

Yes tiny numbers I know!

This  time last year I had just run my first ( only) half marathon and I had thought that I would do it again this year and improve my time. It hasn’t happened. Hurting my back in July didn’t help. It took a while to realise how much it had knocked my confidence, leaving me feeling a bit nervous about running downhill

On reviewing my stats it’s clear why I haven’t achieved the things I’d hoped to, you can’t expect to get faster or run a marathon on 5 miles per week. There is a positive message in all this though. Despite my meagre achievements I have changed from someone who doesn’t do any exercise to someone who does! There’s some low level consistency in there!

Now I don’t wonder whether I should be doing some exercise, I think about when I’m going to do it!

Sunday’s  run was hard at first, having tailed off a bit this month, but definately worth it. I just had to accept that there were going to be walk breaks, and having given myself that permission it suddenly became easier to keep going! It was a bit muddy though (up to mid shin)- I had to get hubby  to meet me in the garage with a towel so that I could strip off and avoid shedding mud in the house!

I’m looking forwards to December. I’ve booked time off work for when Joe breaks up from school and I am planning lots of activities to make the most of the little daylight there will be. I’m already thinking about my new year resolutions, with a view to trying them out in December – iron out the problems before Jan 1st!

happy running!

julie x

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, blogging, change, fitness, fun, habits, half marathon, holidays, middle aged women, Motivation, My fitness pal, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to November 2014……..

  1. txa1265 says:

    “I have changed from someone who doesn’t do any exercise to someone who does”

    Don’t discount that … seriously.

    Sure I am now doing 50+ mile weeks, but the first 23 years of my life it was generally ~12 – 15, no long runs, very slow. It was fitness running … and it was GREAT.

    It is all in what we make out of it. So don’t worry of compare based on what you are NOT or feel you SHOULD be doing – feel pride in what you ARE doing.

  2. pwhent says:

    Becoming someone who routinely exercises and has made it part of their life is a massive step forward. Don’t get hung up on the numbers, its the behaviour that matters and you have got that right. Good luck with the trial run of the New Year’s resolutions!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I wasn’t putting myself down, well I was a bit, thinking about how I hadn’t done what I planned, but then I had a lightbulb moment! When I looked at my charts and realised that I don’t run every day or a steady 3times per week, but I am running consistently every month and that is more than I thought I would achieve when I started out. I remember 5 k being a ‘distance’ goal that I thought was crazy! I’m pleased to have made the change from completely sedentary to regular exerciser!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Peter! I agree it is a big step forwards and it takes time, effort and willpower to make that change and keep on making it. I didn’t realise that I had done it until I was looking at those little graphs and of course the months before I got the smartphone are empty – but not long before that they would have been empty anyway! The realisation that I have made the change has given me the impetus to carry on. sometimes the numbers help- it’s how you look at them that counts!

Leave a Reply

