December arrives.

More delays to my training plan. A weekend of fluey illness. It started on Thursday and I kept on working, but by Saturday lunchtime I had to go to bed. Headache, joint pains, aching. Normally I just get runny nose type stuff. Anyway, spent most of the weekend in bed despite it being beautiful outside.

My New Years resolution involves getting ready to do more running by doing less running and more other stuff. So I’m thinking yoga twice a week, cross training once a week (rowing or swimming) and running 3 times per week, one long run, 2 short fartek/tempo type things.

That gives me a month to get it right before January, when I can re-start or continue in Ernest.

This year I think that I have managed better with getting my diet on track. (If you come round for a cup of tea I won’t be able to offer you a biscuit, none in the house, it’s all nuts and fruit with the occasional home made cake). I try to take my own lunch in to work and avoid buying sandwiches.  So I’m just going to try to stick to that and improve my general body condition before upping the running miles.

In  a quiet kind of way I do want to do a marathon next year.(late next year). I think that it will take me 5 1/2 hrs. I can do that, I can endure for that length of time. I can stand up and operate continuously  for 8, ( though I usually take a little break after 4 or 5 hours), and I sometimes have clinics that run in to each other and go on for 10 hrs plus and I can tell you that despite a constant intake of sugar and caffeine that is an endurance event! So can I start jogging and just keep going for 26.2 miles? Likely I think.  Deep down inside I wanted to do better, be a faster runner but over the last year I have done less not more and have not improved.

What I really need to accomplish is to not compare myself to others. I’ll be doing this for me, because is something that I want to achieve for myself. If I succeed at this it will be because I have ‘grit’ not talent.

I sometimes feel embarrassed because people ( ok a person) pointed out to me my slow times, (compared to theirs) which I think is a bit rude, but it still hurts. I have other talents but it would be crass to point out my successes outside running to ‘even up he score’ and ask how come they haven’t done so well, so I don’t. It does however knock your confidence and morale and make you think maybe you shouldn’t be blogging or even talking about it. Anyhow, time to put those playground politics behind me and be my own woman. For me and all the other dumpy middle aged women out there who just want to be a bit fitter and healthier. I say ‘bleugh’ to you colt limbed skinny things who even at our age just trot effortlessly along flicking your hair without a single drop of mascara smeared down your sweaty cheeks . 👻

Yoga tomorrow.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to December arrives.

  1. So... says:

    Hi. Was wondering where you were.. Actually i found myself running stronger by running less. Yoga twice a week and running four days.

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    Yah missed you 🙂 ! Hope you are feeling much better soon! Also had a bit if ‘flu’ Urgh…. And now injured! I agree HOW RUDE of that someone,.. Ignore hunny!!!! IGNORE!!! You are lapping everyone sitting on their butts so you be proud of what you do… And just ENJOY!!!! You are amazing!!!! *mwah*

  3. oscardiamond says:

    1. Your varied list of activities seems substantial. Don’t feel defeated if you can’t always keep it up. The cross training alone will help you run more efficiently.
    2. Who is this Ernest you are going to continue in?
    3. You’re right! You will certainly be able to complete a marathon. Don’t worry about the time, and run/walk if necessary.
    4. Comparing yourself with others is completely normal but beyond providing a little bit of motivation, it’s also a complete waste of time. It encourages you to think negatively.
    5. Someone comparing their faster times with yours in an adverse manner is more than a bit rude! Good runners who are also good people tend to be rather self denigrating or at least modest. You don’t go out of your way to deflate another person gratuitously. My standard advice is buy modeling clay, fashion a likeness of the person and stick pins in the calves. This might work better if you can obtain some hairs from their head and stick them on the voodoo doll!

    • mawil1 says:

      Voodoo! Now that’s something I’ve never tried. Isnt it wonderful and amazing that no matter how old you get there are still new experiences to be had! Thanks for the top tips! Hope you have got over your cold too. Jx

  4. Don’t let those small nasty comments about pace get to you! We all run for different reasons. I know someone who is always saying how ‘slow’ they are but they beat me all the time so that makes me even slower? Poo poo I say. Run for you and do what you want to do. I have meme that says ‘run run as fast as you can, I’m not the gingerbread man so go on and pass me’. I love it! I hope you get to do the marathon and 5.5hours sounds pretty awesome to me. Your varied program for exercise sounds like fun, it’s good to mix things up. I simply don’t understand why some runners put others down – I’m usually very sunny and positive but when that happens in my head I tell them ‘you aren’t a real runner because real runners only encourage each others’ – bit bad of me eh? But on the outside I just smile!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! Yes I smiled too (and congratulated, so British!) but it ate away at me. Silly, like you say most runners are really nice, everyone knows what it’s like to have people faster and slower than you! Time to move on!

Leave a Reply

