Talking to myself (again)

Ah, Boxing Day! I said that I was going to go for a long run today.

I don’t want to

what do you mean you don’t want to? You love running!

yes, but it’s cold out there.

Cold? But you always get really hot when you’re running. Cold isn’t a problem.

Yes but I’ve eaten so much yesterday, I feel so bloated and sluggish I couldn’t possibly run.

sounds like you need a run to me!

I’ve managed to gain 3lb in a week, it’s going to be even harder running with that extra weight.

Quick on, quick off. You need to go running before that extra weigh takes hold! And let’s face it, if you stay here, there’s a high probability that you are going to end up having Yule log for breakfast . That’s not going to help is it?

mmm. But I fancied a nice trail run. It’s been raining all week, it will be really muddy.

Go on the road then!

I don’t want to be in public, being so tubby, and probably walking a bit as I’m unfit.

Well do the trail then! Whilst you can, in daylight, no rain!

But it will ruin my new shoes!!!!

They’re trail shoes duh!!!New shoes!

New shoes!

Mud!

Yes it was muddy! I thought that this was just a puddle but it was ankle deep- you can see the holes left by my feet!
image Shoes broken in now! Not allowed in the house though. Hubby made me get changed in the garage! Oh! And feet not allowed in the house either. Finally a use for those hotel slippers  my husband likes to keep!

image image

In the end I had a lovely trail run, just over 5 miles, lots of mud, a few hills a bit of getting lost a bit of walking and at the end a lovely bath!

Funny things you see out an about! Saw this when I was out. It tickled me!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Talking to myself (again)

  1. oscardiamond says:

    You clearly have an affinity with mud and therefore the Tough Mudder, Spartan, crazy obstacle type races were made with you in mind. I recommend you enter one so I and others can experience vicarious joy when you blog about it. The one I saw in Cambridge was great fun to watch and the crazy people doing it seemed to be on a natural high. You must have good mud skills because your pic shows it was deep and you didn’t fall flat on your face.
    PS don’t worry about not running as fast as you would like, or walk/running. It’s all good!

  2. pwhent says:

    Well done for getting out there while everyone else lay in their beds. And new trail shoes. Now there is no excuse to run in all weather! Happy New Year – here’s to another year of running pleasure 🙂

  3. txa1265 says:

    haha – as I am reading this the wind chill is 7F and after days where were in the 40-50F range I have a case of the ‘I don’t wanna’s 🙂 Though I could do without that level of mud – it still looks fun! Good job getting out there, that is what it is all about!

Leave a Reply

