If it wasn’t for Janathon……..

I seriously doubt whether I would have gone out of the house today,never mind for a run! I dozed through my hangover to the sound of wind and heavy rain rattling the window. When I got up it didn’t look any better either. I think that there must be something about the aspect of our house that makes the weather seem worse than it is, as my phone said this;

image12*C is positively balmy in this part of the world but it felt cold indoors, so I dressed up in 2 layers, hat, buff and gloves.and cagoule. Naturally 10 minutes in I was roasting hot so hat gloves and buff went into my pockets making me look like I was in mid pregnancy. Maybe that’s just as well, as onlookers might have forgiven what was a lacklustre run, even for me, with heartburn and quite a few walking breaks!

As I was going slowly I decided to make the most of it and concentrate on technique, trying to pick my knees up. My son advised me recently that my run looked like a shuffle.

image

No one else was out so I didnt need to worry about looking silly!

image

So it’s a start! See you tomorrow!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to If it wasn’t for Janathon……..

  1. Well done on getting out there to complete day 1. The weather is pretty grim here too

  2. shazruns says:

    The magic of Janathon strikes again, it got you out the door! Well done

    • mawil1 says:

      Magic! That’s a very positive spin! Now I have visions of Stars shooting from my feet with every foot strike and leaving a slipstream of shimmering glitter behind me! I’m going to imagine that when the going gets tough, thank you!!

  3. pwhent says:

    Well done for getting out in foul conditions AND with a hangover. Sorry, I should know this, is Janathon running every day in January? If so good luck – that’s a great challenge.

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi Peter, you have to exercise every day and blog every day and upload to the facebook page. I’m struggling with the IT bits thoughπŸ˜”!!

  4. txa1265 says:

    The important thing is getting out there, so hurray for that πŸ™‚ Especially while not ‘feeling it’ πŸ˜‰

    But I did have to laugh – we hit almost 50F just after Christmas and I was in shorts and a long-sleeve t-shirt as though summer had arrived! haha

    Happy New Year!

    • mawil1 says:

      Happy new year to you too! I do find that I tend to feel the cold, but if I get out for a run it warms me up and then I’m ok for hours! My husbands all for it, saves on the gas bill, saves the planet! So more running in miserable January!

      • txa1265 says:

        Haha – I totally get it, when it gets cold I tend to dawdle and have to push myself out the door. Fortunately my boys got me great glove/mittens that are just awesome and warm! πŸ™‚

  5. Mimi Loves to Run says:

    Yay! First run of the year. It is cold here, too!! Happy New Yearβ˜†β˜†

  6. Yay for Janathon! Sounds very chilly indeed, I’m impressed πŸ™‚

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha, no not chilly, it was Celsius not farenheight! We had ice last week so I stayed indoors ( and did rowing), I don’t want to fall an injure myself. Rain poses far fewer dangers!

  7. Another Lancastrian Janathoner – hurrah! I hope you have a good month of it all (and that the weather is kind to us!).

Leave a Reply

