Keeping a low profile!

That’s me. Having bombed out of janathon on day 9!

It was the day my son went back to school. I’d had 3 good weeks of doing regular exercise, when I was on leave, then even when back at work with my husband doing childcare I managed to keep it up. However adding on the school run, shopping and cooking eats up the time and hubby was on call for the weekend too so I didn’t get an opportunity to catch up at the weekend.

It was a good learning experience though as I found that I really benefitted from doing something every day, and the variety helped to protect me from pain and stiffness.

Today I managed yoga, but no run as it is icy underfoot and a struggle to walk! At least I know now that swimming and yoga do help my running and that its possible to do something even if I can’t get out of the house. Obviously I have read about the benefits of cross training, but sometimes  you just don’t really believe something until you have proven it to yourself

well done to everyone who is still in  janathon/jantastic!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Keeping a low profile!

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    *mwah* dont stress, just pick it ip again… I pretty much bombed at thexwird go 🙂 but i truly beli e in never throwing in the towel and just moving on… Its not about tge orize babes… Its the taking part xxx come on join me in making it the BEST jan… Come on, we have TWO WEEKS left!!!
    (If there are any typos… Im on my **** phone lol*)
    PS you know you’d be saying EXACTLY this to me 🙂 lets do it J!

    • mawil1 says:

      Exactly!. Just done my 20 minute row so feeling a bit better. I’m going to pack my gym bag tonight so that if its icy again tomorrow I can go to the gym for a run on the treadmill or a swim. When the long days come I want to be fit enough to make the most of them!

  2. fit4365 says:

    Shame on you Julie!!

    I am joking, life gets in the way sometimes, but in the grand scheme of things its far more important than any of the challenges we all take on from time to time. 🙂

  3. I think you’re awesome for starting when you are so busy. I wouldn’t even attempt it and I don’t have children at home anymore. Just keep on trying, that’s all we can do 🙂

  4. oscardiamond says:

    All of the above comments on stilts! I missed your regular posts.

Leave a Reply

