Contemplating my navel.

another day in the life!

6am cup of tea

7am in the car

8 am pre op rounds

8:30 – 5:30 operating ( good anaesthetist so quick turnaround, intense busy day)

5:30 30 mins spent drinking coffee and chatting

6 pm 90 minutes of emails and paperwork

8 pm home cook dinner ( pasta with spinach and mushroom sauce, feeling a bit veggie today)

9 pm bath.

I had planned to read a running magazine in the bath but I dropped it in😁😔 big time. It was wet through so I have put it on the radiator to dry hoping that the pages will peel apart. So instead I contemplated my midriff. A bit lardy looking I thought. I can remember the days when water would flow over the sides and settle in little hollow pools above and below the tiny little pocket of fat just  below my belly button. It’s a long time ago but I have a good memory.😊

A while ago I read Chrissie wellingtons ‘a life without limits’ . It’s an autobiography, she comes from nowhere to win the world ironman in Hawaii. In her teens/early twenties she had an eating disorder and when she starts triaining, having recovered somewhat she comments how when she looks in the mirror she starts to appreciate her body for what it can do rather than obsessing what it looks like. I confess I cynically thought that it’s much easier to appreciate your body ‘ for what it can do’ when you happen to be tall and slim. And an ironman.

That passage came to mind when I was lying in the bath. Lardy though I thought my belly looked at the time, I realised that it had been a while since I thought something that negative about my bod. Maybe because I have more showers than baths? No, I actually notice positive things sometimes, I notice muscles in my forearms when I’m rowing, or the tone that my ever so slightly tight hamstrings give my legs! So late in the day I have come to agree with chrissie that exercise does change ones perception of ones body. I have weighed my self and recorded it  most days for the last 18 months and my weight hasn’t changed. Body fat hasn’t changed. Waist and hip measurements haven’t changed. So it’s all in the mind.

Whether its a good thing that I can be overweight but feel ok about my body is a topic for another day – if I felt bad about it would I be motivated to work harder to lose weight? Or would I just be overweight and miserable? Surely being fat but fitter is better than being fat and unfit.

Anyway, it doesn’t matter. I’m rambling and I should be asleep.

Goddnight all!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Careers, fitness, healthy diet. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Contemplating my navel.

  1. Just keep on running – have to love a runner’s body no matter what shape. I’ve learnt that runners come in all shapes and sizes and never to judge x

    • mawil1 says:

      I was probably blogging too late to express myself well last nigh! The point that. I was trying to make is that running shapes your mind as much (if not more ) than your body. I’m less bothered about what my body looks like, although objectively I can see it looks the same , and much happier to be in it.😊

  2. oscardiamond says:

    Cut the Gordian Knot by agreeing to the following statements –
    1. Of course it’s OK to be overweight and to feel good about your body. That’s a success.
    2. I know lots of runners who might describe themselves as overweight but are physically fit. Fitness, not speed or body shape or weight, is the important factor.
    3. I don’t think you are fat by any stretch of the imagination. Best not use the “fat” word or allow yourself self denigrating descriptions like lardy.
    4. You’ve got an uber responsible job which will have consequences in terms of eating and stress management. Possibly you’ve already got a good balance (as long as you keep up the exercise which clearly results in a more positive outlook).
    5. Best to laminate your running mag next time you have a bath.

  3. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    ….. Be kind to yourself! I have no idea how you do what you do and then go out pounding the pathways! Be well and be happy is my motto … That’s why the little pocket of fat under my
    navel has not been visible for many years, ha… It hidden under my comfy tummy! Your motivation inspires me in lots of ways, keep up the great work! X

Leave a Reply

