This was the week in which……

1) A new road sign appeared in the village

image

Yes that hill is a 1 in 10 gradient! And it’s about half a mile long! I feel vindicated now, I keep saying that it’s a big hill and now I know it is! This is the end of my ‘dinner in the oven run’. 15 minutes out, 10 minutes back. I used to do it quite often when I was doing couch to 5k but I was much less keen on it when trying to do long slow runs. Note to self that it might be helpful to do this once every couple of weeks.

2) I completed dry January. It was a lot easier than Janathon! Around about Christmas I gained a couple of pounds, I don’t know if it was due to food, excess alcohol ( hot chocolate with baileys? Well, it’s christmas, don’t mind if I do! Cocktail? Of course! Wine with dinner because I haven’t got work tomorrow, be a fool not to!) or could it have been, dare I say it, the daily exercise? Who knows but it seemed to drop off again when I went back to work!

image

3) I bought some compression tights and some lovely fluorescent yellow compression socks. Why? On a bit of a whim really. The tights have flashy logo’s all over (x’s). Hubby noticed immediately and has labelled them my ‘x factor’ tights. He even took a photograph, not sure why but I’m suspiscious! They were very supportive and I didn’t feel wobbly going down hill.

There were other notable events too, only some of which were precipitated by the weather (snow) but that’s lifes roller coaster! Hoping for a dull week with more running for next week!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This was the week in which……

  1. shazruns says:

    Nice its official that the hill is tough!

  2. Love that hill sign. Totally vindicated for thinking it’s a big hill! Love your logic with the alcohol – that would be mine too. Very well done on the dry January. Compressions are a runner’s best friend 🙂 Sometimes I’d like to wear them under all my clothes!

  3. Cecilia says:

    Bahahaha! It’s always nice to know that others share the same opinion of how a particular hill feels – now that it has a sign, it’s “officially” tough!

Leave a Reply

