New Place, new PB.

image

This weekend I was in manchester. Saturday morning I thought that I could get 30 minutes running in before breakfast. I planned a route that I thought was probably a couple of miles and set off at a steady jog. It was nice to be in the city where I was a student and a junior doctor. (Happy memories😊) It was good to be there before the crowds of shoppers. It was paved, flat and smooth and entertaining to do a bit of window shopping at speed. I tried to keep going because I didn’t want to be late for breakfast!

When I got back to the hotel I  had mixed feelings to find that I’d only been gone for 12 minutes, good time for breakfast but not a very long run! However, when I noticed that I’d done a mile in 10:16 I was quite pleased – that’s my fastest mile ever and it was completely unexpected!

Urban running is quite different from country running, neither better nor worse, just different.☺️

One of my ambitions is to get my mile time down to under 1o mins before I’m 50. Apparently 50 yr old women who can run a mile in under 10 mins have a 10% risk of cardiac mortality, compared to a 30% risk in those who take 12 mins or longer.  Mind you , I don’t think any studies have been done to see if people who train to improve their time can change that risk.

Happy running!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New Place, new PB.

  1. oscardiamond says:

    The latest research findings regarding cardiac health in relation to amount of miles, effort and frequency make interesting but confusing reading. Of course, as a man, I’m going to side with the detractors and believe the sample was too small to reach any conclusions about cardiac health being significantly compromised by running past the recommended limits. Your stats are already making my head spin!
    I think it’s great to run for very short periods, particularly in the city. It demonstrates flexibility,spontaneity and confidence and prevents a run session from becoming too big a deal. Or something like that.

    • mawil1 says:

      Well it was fun! 😃 study was from 2011 and presented to you with selection bias, obviously I didn’t include any of those that tell you how you damage your heart with endurance training! One publicised recently. The important thing to remember about research is to take it with a pinch of (low sodium?) salt. People are looking to help their careers along and need ‘impactful’ findings. But I’m sure that getting faster equates to getting fitter, so I’m happy with that.

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    *phew* I’m safe! I’m fifty and I doubt I will ever get to 10min/mile LOLOL!!!!
    *crosses fingers*

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha! You are never safe! I must find a link to the study for people to see for themselves. Just because two things are related doesn’t prove cause and effect !

  3. pwhent says:

    That’s awesome Julie – congratulations on your fastest ever mile. Even more impressive that you weren’t trying to run a PB, you just cruised round a run and out it popped!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Peter! I’ve just started using strava and I’m wondering if the app works as well as map my run! But it does show I think that ‘ less is more’, more low intensity cross training with shorter sharper runs😊

  4. Well done on the PB. I like running in different places too, it’s nice to mix things up. Interesting facts about pace and heart health.

    • mawil1 says:

      I agree, and going for a run when you visit a place adds a new dimension to a place. And in my case gives you some ‘special time alone’ with Rome or Manchester or wherever!

Leave a Reply

