Ticking over

It’s only February so I don’t want to speak too soon, but I appear to be getting to grips a little with my New Years resolution.  For those of you who have lives to think about and can’t remember your own resolutions, never mind mine, my resolution was to achieve more balance. I have made progress both literally and figuratively with my almost weekly attendance at a yoga class. I used to struggle to avoid falling over when balancing on one leg, mmm actually 2 sometimes ( warrior pose) but that’s getting better and the presence of the weekly yoga class in my life has improved my exercise schedule, with yoga, rowing and running all featuring on a weekly basis.

I was mulling over the concept of balance whilst driving home from work the other night and I had a little flash of understanding, about yin and yang and how balance was the co existence of opposite but equal forces, that under the guise of peace and harmony that we associate with balance, there can actually be a great deal of conflict and opposition, rather than a homogenous neutrality. Fortunately I got home before my mind broke completely free of reality and I promise to put a new CD in to keep my mind occupied in the future and save you from any such future rambles.

On Friday night I got myself quite excited about the prospect of park run. I think my running has picked up a bit and I was looking forwards to the prospect of a possible PB. Sadly I was so wired that I woke up at 2am and couldn’t get back to sleep for a couple of hours, so I overslept on Saturday morning and missed parkrun😥

I have however entered a race. It’s the same race I did last year and I haven’t done one since, the Manchester 10k. I’m also planning to enter a team triathlon the week before with a couple of lasses from work. My friend is a fantastic swimmer and asked me to do the run bit. If I was her I’d have probably asked someone a bit faster: but in my favour I am reliable and very likely to turn up on the day, so there is something to be said for that. It’s only 4 miles which fits in well with the triaining schedule I have downloaded for the 10k.

The training schedule is from the ASICS website. It’s a bit daunting because at the beginning there seem to be an awful lot of ‘ 5mile runs’ at a slow pace. As it actually says  slow or comfortable or whatever,I have replaced a couple of these with a 5 mile row instead, assuming that they are there for cardiovascular development rather than legs, and so saving my lower back from xs hamstring tightness. I also did a run on the treadmill at the gym, just so that I could work out how slowly I need to run to keep my heart rate below 130-135 for 5 miles. 6-7km /hr. That’s pretty slow!

I actually missed my run tonight because I spent about 2 hours messing with my garmin. (Forerunner 610) About 6 months ago it stopped uploading data onto the website, which wasn’t so bad, it was still all there on the watch. With my newfound interest in heart rate zones though, I want to be able to keep a record of what I’ve been doing. To cut a long story short I ended up doing a ‘restore to factory settings’ so I lost about 6 months of data. It does seem to be working now though, so I’m looking forwards to having lots of new numbers to play with. Geeky? You bet.😊😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, balance, bupa 10k, fitness, garmin, heartrate, middle aged women, parkrun, running, Uncategorized, work life balence, yoga and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ticking over

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Careful, once you get started on the Eastern philosophy who knows where it will end. It’s a slippery slope. You start thinking about communes, karma and Krishnamurti and before you know it, you’ve joined a cult. Tip : don’t take up Scientology unless you love science fiction. Then you can live the dream.
    Your Garmin? Didn’t you download results to the website or just kept the results in the Garmin?

    • mawil1 says:

      Sadly I would never have been able to accept Tom cruise’s proposal due to my lack of Scientology. The problem wit the garmin was that it wouldn’t download onto the website. It did, then it stopped and I kept thinking that I would sort it out later. 6 months later! According to various chat rooms apparently 1 corrupt file stops all the subsequent ones downloading. I have older data, just not the last 6 months. Anyhow, clean start from here.

  2. Impressed that you are getting more balance with the Warrior Pose! All the best with the training for the two up coming events. The great thing about parkrun is that it’s only ever a week to wait until the next one 🙂

Leave a Reply

