Long awaited Parkrun

 

imageLast night Hubs offered to be the child taxi service in the morning. ‘oh no,’ I said, feeling kind, ‘I’ll be up anyway for Parkrun I’ll take him.’ ‘I really don’t mind’ he said ‘lets decide in the morning’ I said.

So at 7am I took him a cup of tea and dropped big hints and off he went. Tempting though it was to go back to sleep I gave myself a talking to ‘runners have willpower and determination ‘ etc  and got out of bed.

Obviously in a  dithery mood today, I tried on 3 tops before deciding what to wear, (seriously! 😮) then as I had plenty of time I thought I’d better ‘fuel up’. I wasn’t really hungry, but after a piece of toast is was like someone had flicked a switch in my head and suddenly I felt alert and positive.

I haven’t done Parkrun for about 6 months. As the crowd was accumulating I was struck by how healthy everyone looked. As a group, people were generally slim, well groomed and didn’t have that tired  pallor in their skin that so many people have.

I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get a PB. Interestingly I did the same time (37:21) as I did this time last year!!

It’s just made me think that I need Parkrun back in my life!

When you are feeling like walking and that person you just overtook then  overtakes you, it does make you want to do better.

So three cheers for Parkrun!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, habits, middle aged women, Motivation, parkrun, running, Uncategorized, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Long awaited Parkrun

  1. shazruns says:

    Parkrun – the perfect start to a weekend

  2. fit4365 says:

    I’ve still never done a Parkrun

  3. Interesting comment about the crowd of runners and how healthy they look – it’s very true. parkrun is just the best way to become more confident with 5kms (and to meet people). Glad you were able to get there this week 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Mm ive been thinking about the healthy comment. Does that mean that most of the people who I see on a daily basis look unfit? Maybe it was because I didn’t have my glasses on at Parkrun, or the natural light! ☺️

  4. pwhent says:

    Well done on getting back to parkrun. I keep meaning to go back but there is always something in the way, usually a Saturday school run.

    • mawil1 says:

      There’s always something isn’t there! This week I’m getting my hair cut so I’ll miss it. At least if I drop off at school I have time to either go to Parkrun …. Or work😁😁!

Leave a Reply

