Not such a bad week.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

I exercised 4 times this week. That is bordering on consistency! 1 run, 1 swim 2 rowing. ย I missed yoga due to work, so swam instead.

The swim was good, my son challenged me to a 20 length race ย and beat me by almost a length. I’m glad he’s fit, but he’s only just 11 so there may be a couple of opportunities to beat him before he hits puberty!

No Parkrun for me today, I’m getting my haircut instead. About time too, I look like a fuzzy lollipop! Planning a nice run for later though. Although I’ve done lots of cross training I’ve missed running.

Although it’s officially spring the weather hasn’t heard, ย we are still getting hail, snow, wind and rain, but more of it is in daylight with some bright but cold sunny intervals so that’s cheering!

On another cheery note, I heard some positive news about our charity fund ย We currently have about 20k in it and need about 35k ย I’m not saying any more just now but watch this space!!

I ‘ve entered a couple of races. The Manchester 10k in May and the week before that I’m doing a 4 mile cross country run as part of a team triathalon. 2 laps of a course which runs by the river. ‘May be muddy ‘ it says. At least I’m used to mud!

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, bupa 10k, Careers, charity, fitness, fun, middle aged women, My fitness pal, parkrun, running, surgery, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not such a bad week.๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Still as inspirational! Now, I may not be energetic, but I am a pretty successful fundraiser! How do I find out more about the charity, maybe I could help? X

  2. fit4365 says:

    Sounds like you had a good week ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. oscardiamond says:

    Cross training is probably the best form of exercise and guards against obsessing overly with individual times/performances. It gets a bit tiresome with chums puffing one another with superlative performances or explaining/apologising why they weren’t superlative performances.
    I’m glad the charity fund is successful. There are a lot of people out there who can be very generous.
    Sorry about your poor weather. It was great in Cambridge today. Better luck next weekend!

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, I’m trying to avoid backache! Some people can be very generous. I’ve had people (patients) who I know don’t have much tuck a tenner into my hand in clinic! As long as we can come up with the goods and provide the best treatments and innovations for them, I like to think that it will all be worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

