Not as I would have wished.

Thats how things are going on the fitness front just now. I use the word ‘wish’ advisedly as a wish is when you want something just to be without any requirement from you to do any work or action towards it, whereas a plan, involves thinking, assessing  deciding and acting.

image

Wishing is legitimate in hopeless situations: in the face of disaster, serious illness or grinding poverty, who could help but wish? Otherwise is wishing is the lazy persons alternative to action? My ‘plan’ to become fitter and slimmer is in danger of unravelling and becoming an unfulfilled wish.

So what’s gone wrong? I’ve gained a few pounds quickly after being pretty steady for a year and my last run before today was 2 weeks ago. Yes I have been trying to have more variety and cross training but is it enough? Maybe I have been indulging in too many ‘treats’  food-wise or overdoing it on the ‘getting plenty of rest’ front!

We have just got back from a lovely holiday to the south coast and walked at least 3 miles every day.image

Sometimes up hill!

image

image

Sometimes with lots of ups and downs which got me quite breathless, it must have been good for my fitness I thought!

My other issue is my gizmos. I’ve spent (wasted) hours with my garmin trying to get it to sync with garmin connect.  I thought I had it sorted after uninstalling and resetting and restarting everything, bought a new ANT stick but then when I tried to upload a run last week it just wouldn’t connect. Then it connected but there was another glitch, asking you to sign in again but not accepting it. It isn’t just me. There are lots of similar complaints on the garmin forum, and tech support haven’t come up with a good explanation / solution.

It’s a shame, because I love my numbers and graphs! If you are a back of the pack jogger, you can only compete against yourself so I need those numbers to keep me motivated.

Then to add insult to injury ‘map my run’ would record my runs but not sync them so I couldn’t get an overview of my activities. However uninstalling and re installing that seems to have done the trick.

In the end I have resorted to writing things down in  a PAPER notebook. I’m not wasting money on a new watch and like paper! Does that make me an old fossil? Here’s one we saw on our hols, for comparison!

image

Don’t worry about my lack of motivation. Im not giving up. Obstacles are there to be overcome!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, fitness, garmin, map my run, middle aged women, sightseing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not as I would have wished.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    Kewl photos! Your hols sound idyllic! Love the fossil pic!
    I’m toying with the idea GPS watch… Great review article in this months Runners World… But no idea where to begin 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      We were in Dorset on the Jurassic coast, worth a visit😊 re the watch I have a fire runner 610 which was fine until they updated the software on the Internet. I got that one because it has a heartrate monitor and because I’m a bit funny like that I’ve even contemplated getting the foot pod to measure my cadence and stride! I’ll have a look at the runners world article. I think newer watches will Bluetooth to computers etc for the data and will do heartrate without a chest strap. All the same I’m not in the market for a new one myself as they are expensive and you can get all the gps stuff from a free app on a smart phone. So much choice! Good luck with choosing!😃😃

      >

      • CeeJayKay says:

        Yah I current use the Polar HRM with the app on the phone and it’s FAB! But it is a pain to keep taking the phone out to see the screen that’s why I’m contemplating a watch/wrist gadget…

      • mawil1 says:

        I can’t see anything without my glasses! So if I want to know as I’m going along I use map my run and put headphones on. You can set it up to say how often you want to be told your speed etc. I know you can get a HRM for it but I don’t know if it tells you your HR. The fore runner vibrates if you go outside say the HR or pace you have set yourself. Are you still blogging? I haven’t seen any posts from you for a couple of weeks?😊😊 Julie

        >

      • CeeJayKay says:

        😇 yah I’m still here… Been blogging… But not every day… work has taken over much of my life unfortunately. It’s just been sooooo busy and I use my Nac at work to do my blog… Hate using WP on the iPad… Sontag I’m here xxx I must look at MapMyRun again… Got turned off when I started getting emails about ‘paying’ 😏 my Polar app only gives me feedback ever km… Hmmm I’m going to and check the settings again xxx take care J xxx have a fab week!

  2. fit4365 says:

    The whole fitness game is like that, full of ups and downs 😦 I know what you mean about the Garmin not syncing. I had similar issues when I was using a Windows laptop. I’ve been (I mean was!) ok on my mac though. And I’m not a boring Mac vs PC person honest!

  3. fit4365 says:

    its not bad, aching a bit today with all the rain lol. Ran about 30 metres yesterday, its a very small start

  4. pwhent says:

    Julie you are a determined lady and I know this will be just another obstacle for you to overcome. I feel your pain in the Garmin front. I gave up trying to upload my stuff to Garmin Connect ages ago. I keep the key numbers in my training spreadsheet.

Leave a Reply

