A small success!

imageSunday was the clitheroe triathlon. I had agreed to enter with a friend from work as part of a relay team. I did advise her that there are faster runners available, but she was adamant that I should go for it. Despite plenty of warning I hadn’t done any training, too busy, then when I got a bit more time I got ill, then it was too late. Needless to say I was apprehensive.

On Sunday morning I woke up early, no point worrying now, time to get moving and get on with it. The day was slightly cloudy but dry. Normal breakfast and out 7:15 on Sunday morning, no traffic, quite pleasant!

Debs was up first, 800 m swim. Took her all of 6 and a bit minutes. Sarah next on the bike, can’t remember the details, but it was a long way (40k?) in about 80 minutes then a 5 mile run for me.

It was quite pleasant being out in the country side of an early morning. The starts were staggered so I ran mainly with no view of anyone else and so I didn’t feel intimidated or pressured. The relay teams were all at the beginning, so I saw people coming back after the turnaround, but only one person overtook me on the route so I wasn’t feeling too bad. I did push myself, my garmin says average heart rate 155 ( max 172) but I still only managed a 12 min/mile! Coming back into the field for the finish there was a little uphill which nearly killed me, and I got overtaken by someone who just sprinted through the finish. Yes I was gutted!

So was it a success? Well yes, because I really enjoyed it and it made me want to do more!

Oh and yes we did get first place for the women’s relay!πŸ†πŸ†πŸ†πŸ†πŸ†

Did I mention that we were the only women’s relay team? No? No matter! πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

when the results came out I could see what superstars my pals are, they had really good times compared to other people. However the average time for the run was about 40 minutes, even for people who had just done the swim and bike and mine was 61 minutes😳

After the event I went and do the weekly supermarket shop.i noticed that after all that effort it was much easier to make healthy food choices! Then I came home and went to bed – shattered!

Now I’m trying to focus on how much I enjoyed running through the countryside in the quiet peace of the early morning in order to motivate myself to get up early for a run regularly. Only 2 weeks until the Manchester 10k!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A small success!

  1. oscardiamond says:

    Well done. Sounds like a complete success to me, you don’t need to add caveats. Just think of the zillions who take no exercise. You are a winner! (legitimate use of cliche).

  2. Wow! First in the women’s relay, that’s wonderful!!! Keep hold of that wonderful feeling of a great event and you will ace that 10kms!!!

Leave a Reply

