Small steps add up

I haven’t been blogging much recently because I haven’t been running much.

last week I watched the London marathon on TV with mixed emotions. I liked it because although it’s a marathon, it’s quite inclusive with its ‘fun run’ atmosphere. I also felt disappointed, not because of not being there but because I wasn’t fit enough to be there. A quick calculation was a wake up call, only 16 months left to achieve my goal of running a marathon before I’m 50. So I entered the ballot today! If I don’t get London I might do Paris or Edinburgh.

‘My mind is writing cheques my legs can’t cash’

Nice quote from Paul Tonkinson who writes for runners world came to mind!

Undeterred I went out for a jog after watching Paula finish. Having done 8 k the week before I decided to do 10k on Sunday taking it easy with my 80/20 plan in mind, so 80% of training at low intensity, 20 % at high. It was a nice day up north, despite it being cloudy and cool in London.

It may have been cool for the London Marathon but Blackburn was sunny and warm!

It may have been cool for the London Marathon but Blackburn was sunny and warm!

I wore my HR monitor and tried to keep my HR at less than 140. I had to do quite a bit of walking to achieve this. However: it was easy, I was exercised, I wasn’t shattered afterwards and I was entirely capable of doing it again the following day (except that I didn’t) which I think is the point.

A week later I did my 20% high intensity, trying to keep my HR above 150. I suspect that leaving a week between sessions isn’t optimal!  Today I went for 30 mins low intensity.  A new route, which was lovely along by the river and has a lot of potential for future exploration.

image

Not over that bridge though! Again, I had to do quite a bit of walking to keep my heart rate low. I expect that eventually my fitness will improve such that I will be able to run at that heart rate.

New Toy.

Sad but true! For Christmas I bought the hubster a ‘fit bit’ . OK part of me thought that if he didn’t use it I would pinch it, but to my surprise he quite likes it. So I got one for myself! Basically it’s just a pedometer to record your steps and some nice software that links to your phone and displays the information in fancy graphs.

It also measures the number of flights of stairs you climb. I might have mentioned the 8 flights of stairs to my office? Normally I take the lift because I’m gasping for breath by the end of the 5th flight but since getting the fit bit I have been motivated to take the stairs, all for a few points on a graph!!! And beating the hubster on the weekly challenge.😏☺️☺️ However I am seeing the benefit already in that I can get up the 7th flight before I start gasping and one day found myself running up the first flight! It just goes to show that small steps can increase your fitness.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, heartrate, running, sightseing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Small steps add up

  1. Cecilia says:

    So THAT is what Blackburn looks like over there! It’s gorgeous! (I also live in Blackburn, but the one that’s in Victoria, Australia.) I think you’ll be fine with your marathon aims, 16 months means you can take it carefully and not need to rush the preparation! Good luck! 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      The countryside is lovely around here, the town centre less so! It’s an old industrial town that’s never really recovered from the decline in manufacturing. What is Blackburn Victoria like? Is there a historical link with Blackburn Lancashire, or Blackburn Scotland for that matter?! Thanks for visiting my blog😀 julie

  2. If I can run a marathon at 50 you can too! I hope you get into the London Marathon but I’m sure the Paris or Edinburgh would be wonderful too. I’m so looking forward to following and cheering you on!

    • mawil1 says:

      You are my inspiration! 😀😀😀 I can’t put my finger on why, but for some reason I feel more positive about it this year, I think my expectations are lower!

Leave a Reply

