Manchester 10k

image

Sunday was the Manchester 10k. Even when I got up in the morning I wasn’t sure if I was going to do it, having not run much recently and thinking that I could just do a nice 10k around home. Having gone to the trouble of entering though I thought that I should pitch up  and get on with it.

I arrived at the allotted time and joined the greens, we heard the blues starting gun and we shuffled along to make room in the pen- or so I thought- then I saw we were going over the start line! I wasn’t expecting to start for another 20 minutes and I wasn’t ready, still had my fleece on, not set my phone – oops not been to the loo!  Split second decision, decided to go ( run over the start line!)

sure enough by the time I reached the portaloo’s at 1k I needed to make a detour! It added 5 minutes into that mile, compared to all the others, but worth it I think, much more comfortable afterwards!!

Overall, it felt much easier than previous efforts, I thought that I kept up a steady jog most of the way round. However I was disappointed not to get a PB. If I really did spend 5 minutes going to the loo then I would have knocked a couple of minutes off my PB . I did did sort of enjoy it and felt that I wanted to do another one soon! When I got home I did a quick search and found that there is a local 10k in 6 weeks time, so I have that in my sights. Mind you I’m not expecting a PB , it’s in Burnley so it will be hilly regardless of what the course description says ( mildly undulating I suspect). I’ve also renewed my subscription  to the running club.

thinking marathon😱

thinking UNICEF☺️

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, charity, fitness, middle aged women, running. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Manchester 10k

  1. fit4365 says:

    Nice one, I wondered if you’d ran it.

    • fit4365 says:

      And there’s a 10K & HM in Rochdale towards the end of August.

      • mawil1 says:

        It would be good to aim for a HM in Autumn. I wonder if Rochdale will be a bit hilly? I suppose the ups will have downs afterwards though! I will do a search for it, as at least it won’t involve a long journey!

      • mawil1 says:

        That’s a 30m hill! Twice !!😱 Ive had a look at some of my routes that I have mapped and it’s the same size as billinge hill, which although I’ve done it a few times is still a challenge! I might see what’s coming up in Blackpool…….😊😊

  2. pwhent says:

    Well done . Nearly every time I race I wake up and think I don’t want to do it. And when I have done it, I always feel great and want to do another, so your feelings are not unusual!! Well done for getting out there. Your post reminds me that I have seriously neglected my blog for the last few months. Lots on!!! Must do something about it.

    • mawil1 says:

      Life gets in the way doesn’t it? That’s the difficulty, keeping up a steady commitment. My son has promised to come to Parkrun with me over the summer, so we will see who has to chase who to get out of bed!

  3. That’s awesome Julie, well done. And thinking about another, go you! Keep those marathon thoughts going, if I can do it you can too xxx

  4. oscardiamond says:

    Sounds like a very good day, particularly because it has inspired you to develope your running further. Sensible to stop off at the portaloo rather than do a Paula Radcliffe!

  5. Great job! Sometimes a race can just perk you up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

