Happy apps.

Getting a fitness tracker has been a real eye opener.

I realised some years ago that less walking had an effect on my physique, I didn’t get a car until I was 27, up until then I used public transport which always involved a lot of walking. I was also very slim until I was 27!

Then the time in my life arrived where instead of ‘living in’ as a junior doctor, I got my own place and that meant driving to work. Rotating around different hospitals every 6-12 months meant commuting with a daily round trip of 80 miles. We bought a house out of town, so every trip to the shop or whatever was done in the car. I realised a few years ago that I just didn’t walk anywhere anymore, whereas as a child I always walked a few miles a day just going to school and back! I thought that all that walking around the hospital and the trek to the car park was probably a good amount. As it turns out, about 4,600 steps.

image

there’s a management theory called the ‘Hawthorne effect’ which basically states that as soon as you start to observe something behaviour changes often in the desired direction. This appears to be the case with the fitness app. Take the lift? Not me!!! Well not any more๐Ÿ˜Š

I’m persisting with my 80/20 training.

The fact that I can achieve most of my 80 at a brisk walking pace has highlighted my lack of fitness, which I think has heightened my awareness of my general activity levels. I am trying to move more, take the stairs, DO things. This weekend I took my son orienteering. It was only a tiny junior course, but he’s just learned how to use a map and compass so for now it really entertains him!! I’m trying to maintain his enthusiasm! I think it might get him interested in running around the course if he gets into some competitions!

He gave me some top tips too. He’s 11 and worldly wise. Driving back from the orienteering course we saw a woman out running, she was running fast. My son told me that when I ran it was more of a shuffle and if I picked my feet up that I might be as fast as her. He then suggested that I should try skipping to improve my bounce! Never one to ignore good advice, I stopped at the shops on the way home and bought not one but TWO skipping ropes (only ยฃ3:99 each) and challenged him to a skipping competition. What a laugh! Neither of us could do it at first!!!! However we persisted and eventually I got my co ordination right and managed 20 jumps in a row, Joe only 6 ๐Ÿ˜heh heh heh! Not that I’m competitive! But it’s good exercise and the skipping ropes might be a good way to let off steam when we get home from school. I’m aiming for 100.

As for the 20 of the 80/20 I attempted that on a stationary bike in the gym. I’d done 40 minutes low intensity on the elliptical trainer (cross training to reduce my risk of injury) and I set myself the target of 10 minutes with a HR of 145-150 on the bike. I had to pedal so hard to get my heart rate up! In the end I threw caution to the wind and went hell for leather pedalling like a demon. It was actually quite fun, and after all at low intensity training I did get a bit of a ‘high’from it.

So plans for next week? More high volume low intensity jogging/rowing. Try to get a yoga session in. Swap my running app from map my run to strava. Oh and more skipping of course!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy apps.

  1. CeeJayKay says:

    I have just bought myself the PolarM400… WOW, wake up call for me BIG TIME! and you are right, once you are aware, GOOD behavioural changes do happen… Its an activity traker as well as a running/whatever watch thiny… i have yet to figure all that out ๐Ÿ™‚ i will keep you posted.
    You go GIRL!!! inspiring! xxx

  2. I haven’t used a fitness tracker but a good old pedometer for the Global Corporate Challenge was one of the three factors that got me running. The info is eye opening for sure. Love the fitness training from Coach Son ๐Ÿ™‚ he sounds pretty switched on.

  3. oscardiamond says:

    A good suggestion from your son! Skipping is good, hard work. The more you skip the more efficient you become (as an adult). You could look up some of the crazy skipping vids on You Tube.

Leave a Reply

