Good news! Mission accomplished!

When I started this blog, I named it ‘ middle aged woman running for charity’ because my aim was to raise some money to buy a new piece of equipment for the breast unit where I work. ( East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust)

I decided to run a half marathon, which at the time seemed scary and impossible and to try to get sponsorship. Pleasingly, I completed the Lancaster half marathon and raised £2000.

Since then, our team applied to the Rosemere Cancer Foundation (www.rosemere.org.uk) for the rest of the funding. I’m pleased to say that following an excellent presentation by my colleague, Miss Jane McNicholas we have been awarded the funds that we need to purchase the equipment for a BLES, (breast lesion excision system) which will enable us to remove small breast cancers in a minimally invasive way, that is without making big cuts in the breast tissue. We are so pleased that we will be able to offer this service to our area.

I’d just like to say a big thank you to all the people who sponsored me.

Also I would like to thank all the fellow bloggers who have offered me top tips and so much support on this journey. When I started my blog, my intention was to generate some publicity. I had no idea how much I would get out of it from making virtual friends and the support an encouragement I would get from them.

I’m not sure where to go with my blog now! Maybe round this one up and start another with a new name ( old woman not doing a lot of running but thinking about it quite a bit?) OR a change of tack:  I’d quite like to run the London marathon and raise money for UNICEF.

Why UNICEF? because as a mother I can’t imagine anything worse than having your child die in your arms of hunger or thirst. I can’t imagine being in that position and wondering why someone wouldn’t help my child for something that is so easily remidaible. I want to help those mothers and children if I can and this is exactly the kind of thing that UNICEF tackles.

However I need to get back into running form if I am going to do that! I’ll keep you posted!

Once again, my most sincere thanks to everyone for their support, encouragement and money!!

Julie x

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, charity, east Lancashire breast unit, fundraisisng, half marathon, Rosemere cancer foundation, running, UNICEF. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Good news! Mission accomplished!

  1. pwhent says:

    What a great achievement Julie – congratulations!

  2. So... says:

    Amazing! Love to read your posts and love your passion for running and getting things done. It’s quite a task to manage running while caring for a family and managing a demanding job. Hats off for the inspiration.
    Wish you the best with the UNICEF project.
    Please do keep mawil… It’s nice to see it pop in my reader.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! I know that I’m not alone in juggling work and family and it’s good to see how others manage. Sometimes writing it all down clarifies what you want to do or need to do. It will be October before I find out if I can run for UNICEF, but if not London I will try for another marathon for them. Thanks for your support!

  3. shazruns says:

    Fantastic fund raising and getting the job done! Hope you keep blogging x

  4. Congratulations Julie x seriously impressed with your efforts and with those of Jane’s and all the other people who have helped to get this new equipment. Nothing like a goal accomplished and especially one that will help women when they really need it. I do like the idea of the UNICEF fund raising. Once you thought that running that half was so big that you would struggle to get there. You’re there! A marathon is like that too. Set your sails and go for it!

  5. CeeJayKay says:

    wow! that IS lovely! i would miss your blog… please keep going with it, dont change it… you are inspirational and it would be such a pity for it to just cease to ‘happen’…
    UNICEF is a GREAT cause… i am with you on that one! xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you. I’m glad that you like UNICEF too. Although I think things like cancer research are really important you can change more lives for the better with less money through something like UNICEF. Not that it’s about the money. I just believe that if we all look after the children the future will be better!

  6. I’d be very sorry if you gave up your blog. I have no passion for running whatsoever, but your blog is about more than just that.( I managed to avoid cross country at our old school for 7 years, that took some creativity believe me ) Delighted that it raised the funds you need and I hope you keep writing.

Leave a Reply

