Week 3/42

This week started off well. I’d been a bit concerned that every time I see my son he is totally immersed in his I-pad, ear phones and everything. He never wants to come for a run with me, telling me that he is active all day at kids club and needs a rest. Hmmm. I worry that he’s a couch potato, well maybe a couch string bean. I decide to make an effort not to do any housework or work and try to spend a weekend more focused on him. Hubster is on call for the weekend ( just in case Jeremy hunt is reading – Jeremy is an MP who is under the misapprehension that consultants don’t work at weekends- Dave spent 18 hrs per day in the hospital seeing patients and doing surgery) so it’s just me and Joe.

image

We agreed to go for a walk up pendle hill. It’s a popular walk so the path has been laid with stones- almost a stairway for most of it, and there are lots of people. We set off and Joe is  in tweenager mode, slightly grumpy but happy to walk. At one point the hill is quite steep, 150m ascent in a half mile. I’m puffing like a steam train, it’s humid I’m red and sweaty and there are midges. I have to stop every so often to catch my breath. My son is skipping along on those springy deer legs of his. When he stops patiently to wait for me I concede that he was right, he is fitter than me and he magnanimously replies that although he isn’t out of breath his legs ache.

image

On the way down he cheers up and at one point he forgets to be cool and holds my hand☺️ He’s only 11!

Later on that day I go for my 3 mile run. The next day I have aching in my buttocks, which actually I find quite reassuring as I take it to mean that my ‘glutes were firing’ rather than being dependant on my hamstrings.

The rest of the week was a bit of a washout from the running point of view.  Monday was my uncle’s funeral, he was only 5 yrs older than me. It was lovely to spend time with the family and reminisce about those early years when he courted and married my auntie. He was dressed as boy George when they met!

The next day at work I got the news that another, experienced member of staff is leaving the team. A few people have left since Christmas, it’s been difficult and now it’s going to get worse. All in all it left me feeling quite ‘angst-y’. The usual dilemmas, you only live once so you have to make the most of it, work life balance, duty to the family, duty to society (to work and use the skills you have for the benefit of others), am I doing too much or not enough?

I felt too upset to go running. Pathetic I know, but I have been seriously lacking in PMA (positive mental attitude) . Missed 3 runs.

This week should be better. It’s only 7:30 now so I’ve had breakfast and I’m going out early. It is a long run day and I’m just contemplating where I’d like to go, probably  yellow hill. I like long runs, because you get to go somewhere and I like being on top of a hill!

It’s the last week of the summer holidays, kids clubs are finished so Dave has taken a week off to spend with Joe, – that’s going to make my week a lot easier. Let’s try to tick some boxes!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, fitness, hills, maps, marathon, running, walking, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Week 3/42

  1. So... says:

    It was a tough week for you. But it’s early days of your training program so you will be just fine.
    Missed all my runs last week. Thankfully now I don’t get so worked up since I know that after a couple of runs, I will find my swing.
    Wishing you a good week ahead running and otherwise.

    • mawil1 says:

      I hope that you are having a better week this week. It’s good that you don’t get worked up -I’m trying to follow your example and just trying to keep it going!

      • So... says:

        Thanks Julie. Just about coming back to routine. Had a whirlwind couple of weeks and barely made a run a week. Such is life as a mommy runner. The best thing is running takes you back. Hope your training is going well.- Sonia

  2. Sounds like a tough week Julie. I hope the work situation gets sorted, not nice being short staffed. I thought it was lovely that your son held your hand. Made me smile and I bet it made you really smile. It’s the little things that help us move through tough times. Be gentle with yourself x

  3. Some weeks are worse than others. This week was sheer hell for me too and I didn’t go running -at all because I was feeling really sore although I suspect it had more to do with just being very stressed. Anyway. Been out for a run today and now I am going for lunch although to be honest I wish I could just curl in the couch and watch crap movies all day long today… Oh well, let’s go!

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi I hope that you are feeling better and having a better week this week! There was a lot of it around last week – stress and dissatisfaction! This week’s going better for me and I see you have been running and blogging so you’re hanging in there! So well done for that and the PMA too!

  4. Michael says:

    Young Joe will remember that walk he took with Mom for a long time. I suspect you will too. I’d say pretty successful! Keep up the PMA.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Michael – I hope that there will be many more walks with joe – he does seem to enjoy being out and it’s nice to have a walking companion!

Leave a Reply

