A lovely week 4……everything!

image

Sunday morning I got out early for a 4 mile easy long run. It was a lovely day and I went for the trails/hills. Near the top of the hill I saw cows, and the perfect opportunity to take a picture for Annie of a square, English cow. See what I mean, that straight back, that tail at a right angle, it’s not a curvy horse is it? See the cow on the right? With its head down? A split second later it charged me – yes reader, I screamed like a girl and ran! I think the poor cow was so surprised by the scream it stopped! But we did have a report on the news a couple of weeks ago about someone being seriously injured by a herd of cows and for some reason I remembered it then!!

well I survived to enjoy the view from the top;

View of Preston from yellow hill

If you can see this on a big screen you will see Preston in the distance.

monday was a rest day, so I did.

Tuesday – yay finally achieved a Tuesday run. Got up at six, first thought ‘oh I don’t want to get out of bed’. However I have been reading a book about positive mental attitude, so even though I wasn’t feeling it I said to myself ‘ I love running, I am getting up to go for a run’ and I did. Interesting that it worked, so easy!  It was a lovely morning, dry but a little bit cool. Just 2miles, job done.

It was an interesting day at work. My colleague Suzanne had arranged for a film crew to come in and video us for an informative piece to go on the trust website. We were all dreading it, but the producer was so lovely and put everyone at ease it turned out to be a really affirmative day. I hope the video is useful to visitors to the site.

Wednesday went out after work, 3miles. The nights are drawing in and I made it home just before sundown. Maybe running by the canal wasn’t such a good idea given the dusky evening! The part I ran through goes through an old industrial site and some woodland, every little creaky noise made me think that I was being followed!

Thursday was another rest day.

image

Friday was a bit of a cheat. When I got home from work I found that househusband for the week had prepared roast chicken and chilled Chardonnay. 😃😋 It was too good to resist and I didn’t go for a run afterwards as I thought that I might, so I did it this morning instead. Anyhow I’m going to count that as a complete week and I’m pleased with it.

next week those 2 mile runs turn into 3 mile runs so I’m going to need to find an extra 10-15 minutes for each one. I have my route planned so I just need to get up early!

I hope that your running is going as well, whether it’s 2minutes or 20miles, You know you can do it! Happy running😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, change, cows, fitness, fun, hills, marathon, running, slow run, time management, training plan, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A lovely week 4……everything!

  1. This week was mighty successful for me too.. I got three 5 milers in which is more than I can say for the week before, when I was resting. I have been very happy with my runs because it’s been easy and I haven’t felt any pain in any of my injuries which is a first. I am still taking it slow and not building up on distance until 2 weeks before the Royal Parks. I’ve ran the whole 13 mile 3 times already so I know I can do it… I just want to keep steady and avoid injury. So far, it’s been fun! 5 mile is a distance where I can just chill and have fun… 🙂

  2. PS: re running and grieving.. I feel like I am doing better with that. Somehow running helps me put my pain somewhere. It is not my heart breaking or my brain whirring.. it’s just that my legs hurt! I know it sounds simplistic but I always say that one of the big things about running is the fact that you can “locate” your pain and work through it and come stronger at the end if that makes sense. Happy weekend! I am going to start painting my new room and arranging all my stuff.

  3. Loving those ticks on your training plan. Square cows… yes I see what you mean 🙂 They look in great condition by the way!

    • mawil1 says:

      I confess I’m a little bit proud of my ticks! A bit of paper on the fridge works so much better for me than an electronic diary, though I love my gizmos too! The cows do look good don’t they? It’s the end of out summer though, they have had lots of fresh air and grass, and plenty of warm drizzly rain to keep them clean! I don’t think farmers have to irrigate here in summer – just pop out a salt lick and fill up the water trough! We are lucky to have such a mild climate.

  4. CeeJayKay says:

    I am PETRIFIED of cows! I took our German Shepard for a walk at Hardwich once and a WHOLE herd chased us with me screaming like banshee and the dog wanting to bloody kill cows! Horrendous!
    Your hubby sounds like a gem… I may send mine for lessons lololololol!!!! Lucky you, enjoy enjoy!!!!

  5. oscardiamond says:

    Nice description of relaxed, motivated, disciplined running. It can only be good for you BUT you’re taking a risk too far with those cows. That one with its head down meant business. It’s not uncommon for several people a year to get trampled to death. So give them a wider birth. And running by a lonely canal and dark woodland? You’ll be playing Russian roulette next!

    • mawil1 says:

      When you put it like that it does seem a bit reckless! Normally cows are ok, I think that it was the fact that I stopped running past and turned and walked towards them that bothered them. I was terrified though! There was an incident just a few weeks ago close by, with warning on the news, not to go near cows with calves, keep your dog well away etc and it crossed my mind that if I wasn’t dead my husband would kill me if he found my mangled body in a field!!! Re the canal, didn’t realise that the nights are drawing in. Now that I’m getting a bit fitter it might be time to re visit the running club so that I can have some buddies to run at night with and maybe even do some cross country- the season is starting!

Leave a Reply

