I had a dream……..

Once. About running.

It was when I was in my early teens, it was a vivid dream so real and startling that I remember it to this day. I dreamt that I was running on the rec near our house, the wind blowing through my hair because I was so fast and it was exhilarating and free.

I’m sure that Freudian analysis would reveal something interesting, but I took this at its face value and tried to go for a run. Of course it was nothing like, I couldn’t run and back then it wasn’t common place for sedentary people to decide to take up running. No one seemed to appreciate that you could learn to run through a walk run programme. So I just gave up on that.

But sometimes now,I get tiny glimpses of that dream becoming reality. Sometimes my stride opens up a little bit and I get a feeling of running rather than shuffling. Sometimes I drift and I realise that I have been jogging as comfortably as walking. Sometimes I remember to push off on my back foot and I can spring forwards. These are tiny little windows of hope that my running is improving.

you might have guessed that things are going ok? I’ve got another week under my belt and I’m sticking to the training plan. I’m learning to hold a bit back, not to push myself to the limit. On rest days I sometimes feel like I want to run, but I don’t. On run days sometimes I want to go further or faster but I don’t. Sometimes I don’t feel like running but I do!  Sometimes I think ‘make the most of it- tomorrow’s a rest day and you won’t get the chance!’ But for whatever reason I’m managing to keep it up. I’m sure that there is a lesson to learn in there for life!

Now I can see that it is so much better to run 2 or 3 miles 4 times rather than 5 miles twice😊

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I had a dream……..

  1. So... says:

    Such a lovely post! Running is a metaphor for life.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, in so many ways! Even down to the fact that I’ve had to get it wrong a few times before I get it right! I’m sure there will be ups and downs, so I’m just trying to enjoy the ‘ups’ while they last!!

  2. Love this post Julie. Your dream is coming more and more truer every day. Sounds like you are right on track. Really loved reading this 🙂

  3. CeeJayKay says:

    Love it! So inspiring!

  4. oscardiamond says:

    I think if we run consistently and avoid over exertion, we often feel more comfortable and much less self conscious. It then becomes enjoyable rather than uphill work. And then you get your running confidence and feel even better. Your marathon training regime seems to very successful.

    • mawil1 says:

      Still 37 weeks to go! Already worrying whether the 18 mile long run will be enough – only an extra 8 miles to pull out of the bag on the day. However there’s a lot of 6, 8 10 mile long runs and I suspect that running consistently at those distances rather than a 16 week programme where you ramp it up a couple every miles every week will be better for building up stamina.

Leave a Reply

