another book about running!

imageThose of you who are kind enough to read my blog on a regular basis will know that my first love is reading and now that my second love is running, I read as much as I can about running!

This book is 20 years old and although some of the content is probably a bit out of date, the advice on hydration for instance, I think that it is still a good read.

The book is about a marathon class offered by an American university, I forget where, but people could opt to do the marathon class as one of their subjects for a semester. There was a wide age range of participants and many had never run before, but over 5 years all except one person who took the class completed the marathon.

At first when I read the book I assumed that the course would have been run by the department of phys ed, but when I looked a bit closer I realised that in fact it was the department of psychology! That’s interesting because the focus on the book is very much about the pschology of endurance, with advice on ‘creating your own reality’ positive mental attitude (PMA), visualisation techniques for dealing with fatigue or pain.

nothing in here about reps, hills or intervals, but there is advice on doing a walk -run programme before you start then a programme based on mileage and 4 runs per week. There is a little bit on form, perceived exertion and breathing

Although I’m not using their training programme the one I have downloaded ( from Asics) is very similar, with 4 runs per week and a rest day before and after the long run.  I used the PMA last Tuesday to get me out of bed early for a pre work run. I could feel my self sliding into not going for a run, even though I had got up and made a cup of tea, but I told myself that I wanted to go and I would go, and so I did! It didn’t work this Tuesday though. I said ‘no way am I getting out of bed at 5 :30 I’ll go after work’ . no run that day.😔

So only 3 out of 4 runs this week, but 3 better than none. Sunday felt hard, Wednesday felt easy, Friday got done on Saturday. Now it’s back to wintertime, with runs in the dark and today my first run in the rain, albeit just a bit of drizzle.

Good ol' fridge door plan!

Now it’s starts to get challenging, with a number of social events to fit in over September and October. Fitting in runs with weekends (and weeks) away from home, and the alcohol question. Obviously I’m not going to drink enough to have a hangover, but will a few drinks affect my training? And the extra calories, I certainly don’t want to gain any weight as that will make my running even slower!  I’ll see how it goes. The plan is to have fun but keep running😀

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in balance, book reviews, fitness, marathon, positive mental attitude, reading, running, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to another book about running!

  1. shazruns says:

    I started running in 2004, ran VLM in 2005 using this book as my training guide. I can’t recommend it enough. It is a ‘get to the finish’ plan not a ‘get in under’ plan. The ‘mind’ training they do is absolutely worth doing. Even if you are not following the mileage I would say, read the chapter and follow the advice for that week.
    I quite on re read mine to help my mind!

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi Shaz, I’m glad to hear that you liked it too – and that it worked for you! I agree with your approach. I’ve read it once and now I’m doing like you a chapter a week. My training plan is 42 weeks in all and I’m about 6 weeks in which takes me to about their week 1, but it’s really motivating and gives me something to focus on when I’m running. I love ‘but it doesn’t bother me’ – I shared it with my 11 yr old, trying to start him early with a PMA!!

      • shazruns says:

        Oh I must re read so need to not be bothered! I used to have my mantras on the fridge- I am a marathoner – was one I used to say over and over in my head when on those long runs! I should know but which marathon ?

  2. CeeJayKay says:

    That’s a great mantra! ‘Keep running and have fun’!!!! Xxx

  3. mawil1 says:

    It is fun !!!!! Lol!

  4. So... says:

    Ditto here. Reading and then running and now both. Couldn’t get better. Going to get my hands on that one.

  5. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Just finding my way in the blog world and enjoyed looking around your site…best of luck with your marathon training, researching, and writing. My wife also has a great site that chronicles her journey as a relatively new runner that you might like as well…look forward to following your continued progress!

    Cheers!
    James

Leave a Reply

